New GM, asking for advice

Join the never-ending battle for truth and justice in the world's greatest super-hero universe, using the world's greatest super-hero roleplaying game! This forum is for discussion of DC ADVENTURES.
TheSander
Groupie
Groupie

New GM, asking for advice

Postby TheSander » Mon Mar 10, 2014 10:48 am

Hello there everyone, sometime in the near future I'm going to run my first DC Adventure campaing, since this is my first time ever running (or playing, I'm fresh convert) a M&M game, I wanted to ask all the more experienced GMs and players here what pitfalls and problems, if any, I should avoid, and generally ask for advice.

Monolith
Superhero
Superhero

Re: New GM, asking for advice

Postby Monolith » Fri Mar 14, 2014 12:13 pm

I'm sorry no one's answered this, but it's a very complex issue.

There first thing I'd tell you to do is take some sample characters and just do some test battles. Nothing involving the campaign, just so that everyone can learn the basics of how combat and power stunting work. You can download any of the Sentinels pdfs from this page: http://grfiles.game-host.org/ to do that. Just run a bunch of mock battles.

When you go to run your campaign you're going to see that everything in M&M is balanced to pl. 2 pl 10 characters are roughly equal, and the bigger the pl difference the more people you need to fight the foe. So 1 pl 10 against another pl 10 has roughly a 50/50 chance of going either way. A pl 11 versus a pl 10 has the pl 11 winning 2/3 of the time, and so on.