Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

We all make mistakes. Here's where you can tell us about ours.
User avatar
Jameson
Luminary
Luminary
Posts: 2600
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 5:48 am
Location: an hour west of Beantown

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby Jameson » Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:14 am

PLastic Man, page 229

His offensive block lists Unarmed +11 with +14 to grab checks, but unless I miss something that breaches his PL 11 and puts him at PL 12.5
Forty six and two are just ahead of me.

Read my M&M product reviews here

User avatar
FuzzyBoots
Cosmic Entity
Cosmic Entity
Posts: 9719
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:15 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby FuzzyBoots » Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:32 am

Jameson wrote:PLastic Man, page 229

His offensive block lists Unarmed +11 with +14 to grab checks, but unless I miss something that breaches his PL 11 and puts him at PL 12.5

I don't think grapple checks count against PL. You'd be matched Unarmed against Strength Damage.

User avatar
Saltcrow
Zealot
Zealot
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 3:06 am

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby Saltcrow » Sun Jul 03, 2011 4:31 pm

FuzzyBoots wrote:
Jameson wrote:PLastic Man, page 229

His offensive block lists Unarmed +11 with +14 to grab checks, but unless I miss something that breaches his PL 11 and puts him at PL 12.5

I don't think grapple checks count against PL. You'd be matched Unarmed against Strength Damage.


Since Grab effect forces the target to roll against a DC, it certainly does count against PL.

User avatar
Kariggi
Sidekick
Sidekick
Posts: 380
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 2:10 pm

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby Kariggi » Tue Jul 05, 2011 4:04 pm

Saltcrow wrote:
FuzzyBoots wrote:
Jameson wrote:PLastic Man, page 229

His offensive block lists Unarmed +11 with +14 to grab checks, but unless I miss something that breaches his PL 11 and puts him at PL 12.5

I don't think grapple checks count against PL. You'd be matched Unarmed against Strength Damage.


Since Grab effect forces the target to roll against a DC, it certainly does count against PL.


Even if it does wouldn't the PL be determined by (14 + Str) /2 in this case (14+2)/2 = PL 8 or am I missing something on Plastic Man?
"I'm loyal to nothing...except the Dream."

User avatar
Saltcrow
Zealot
Zealot
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 3:06 am

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby Saltcrow » Tue Jul 05, 2011 5:54 pm

+11 to attack and +14 to grab = +25/2 = 12.5

+14 Grab Check is the total bonus of his grab check added to 1d20 (or DC 10+, depending on your interpretation), not the base bonus upon which he adds his Strength bonus. For your information, it is calculated by Dex 5 (grabbing finesse) + Elongation 9 = 14.

User avatar
Black Mamba
Cosmic Entity
Cosmic Entity
Posts: 9477
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 6:45 pm

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby Black Mamba » Tue Jul 05, 2011 7:01 pm

Saltcrow wrote:+11 to attack and +14 to grab = +25/2 = 12.5

Combat Combat Skill: Unarmed does not count toward Grabs - as per the description in the book under Close Combat. When Grabbing someone PM only has a 5 Attack. 5 + 14 = 19/2 = 9.5, which is within his PL limits.
In this world of armchair bloggers, who've created a generation of critics instead of leaders, I'm actually doing something. Right here. Right now; for the city. For my country" - Oliver Queen, Smallville

User avatar
Saltcrow
Zealot
Zealot
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 3:06 am

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby Saltcrow » Tue Jul 05, 2011 7:35 pm

Black Mamba wrote:
Saltcrow wrote:+11 to attack and +14 to grab = +25/2 = 12.5

Combat Combat Skill: Unarmed does not count toward Grabs - as per the description in the book under Close Combat. When Grabbing someone PM only has a 5 Attack. 5 + 14 = 19/2 = 9.5, which is within his PL limits.


Now that's something I never noticed before. I suppose my confusion was derived from the stat block in Plastic Man's sheet detailing his grab bonus next to the unarmed damage.

For those of you who haven't got the book next to them:

DCAHH pg 57 wrote:Close Combat : Unarmed is an option, meaning skill with unarmed strikes like punches and kicks. However, this bonus does not apply to other forms of unarmed combat maneuvers, including, but not limited to, grabbing or tripping.

User avatar
Jameson
Luminary
Luminary
Posts: 2600
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 5:48 am
Location: an hour west of Beantown

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby Jameson » Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:26 am

Thanks guys, I too had failed to notice that (or failed to remember noticing it).

That distinction makes the fast grab advantage even better than it already was too.
Forty six and two are just ahead of me.

Read my M&M product reviews here

User avatar
Kariggi
Sidekick
Sidekick
Posts: 380
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 2:10 pm

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby Kariggi » Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:34 am

I'm still obviously off the mark why is his grab check +14 (+9 for elongation I'm guessing +?)
I thought they resisted against str his is 2 the most I come up with is 11.

Edit: NVM Grabbing Finess Dex not Str
Last edited by Kariggi on Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
"I'm loyal to nothing...except the Dream."

User avatar
Black Mamba
Cosmic Entity
Cosmic Entity
Posts: 9477
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 6:45 pm

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby Black Mamba » Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:37 am

Kariggi wrote:I'm still obviously off the mark why is his grab check +14 (+9 for elongation I'm guessing +?)
I thought they resisted against str his is 2 the most I come up with is 11.

As was stated above, he has the Grabbing Finesse Advantage that lets him use his Dexterity bonus rather than Strength bonus to hold someone. His Dexterity is 5. He then gets +9 more from the 9 Ranks of Elongation for a total of 14.
In this world of armchair bloggers, who've created a generation of critics instead of leaders, I'm actually doing something. Right here. Right now; for the city. For my country" - Oliver Queen, Smallville

User avatar
Kariggi
Sidekick
Sidekick
Posts: 380
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 2:10 pm

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby Kariggi » Fri Jul 08, 2011 9:13 am

It has probalby been mentioned by I was going over my DCA HH Errata and noticed "and each reduction in seize rank subtracts" I believe it should read size not seize.

That is all, thank you for your product and support.
"I'm loyal to nothing...except the Dream."

pawsplay
Zealot
Zealot
Posts: 1241
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 3:10 pm

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby pawsplay » Wed Feb 08, 2012 2:07 am

http://www.mutantsandmasterminds.com/gi ... 000755.php

The link to Game Host doesn't work, it's been jacked by a targeted search site.
Kickstarter: Tripod Machine presents Do Not Approach (Super-powered by M&M)
http://writeups.org - a big and growing collection of dual-statted character writeups!

User avatar
The Fifth Wanderer
Sidekick
Sidekick
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 12:20 pm
Location: Lost in Time and Space

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby The Fifth Wanderer » Wed Feb 08, 2012 5:59 am

It looks like the files got rearranged, and someone forgot to change the URL on the Gimmick's Gadgets page.
Dread Mad God and Keeper of the M&M3e/DCA Resources thread.

The Secret World Chronicle - A superhero audiobook podcast.

User avatar
ZamuelNow
Sidekick
Sidekick
Posts: 357
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:56 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby ZamuelNow » Sat Jun 09, 2012 2:04 pm

While not mathematically incorrect, it seems more like a strange choice to give the trained Soldier a lower Strength stat than the Police Officer. Sorta comparable to how the pre-errata Tank didn't have enough Impervious to resist a shotgun.


Return to “Errata”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest