Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

We all make mistakes. Here's where you can tell us about ours.
User avatar
Elric
Overlord
Overlord
Posts: 4774
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 11:32 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby Elric » Fri Jul 16, 2010 7:33 am

This is an errata thread for DC Adventures Hero's Handbook. The print book is now out; to the extent that any of this errata was found and corrected before printing, this may only correspond to the pdf (honestly, I doubt much of this was found/fixed in time, but I don't have the book to check. The DCA pdf has now been updated to correspond to the errata).

Update: the official DCA HH errata is http://grfiles.game-host.org/files/DCAHHerrata.pdf. Most of the items mentioned in this post are fixed. I bolded the ones that don't appear to be fixed.

Battlesuit: The Battlesuit has Dodge 9 and Toughness 12, which is over his PL limit since the archetype is PL 10.

Wonder Woman has Flight 11, which is incorrectly listed as 2,000 MPH; it should be 4,000 MPH going by the standard on other characters, which seems to be that it's your distance covered single-moving for an hour.

Wonder Woman's Bracers are only worth 8 pp, so they should only get 1 pp back from Removable (p 235).

It's hard to understand what construction Wonder Woman's Lasso is.

Note that Removable happens to be done in a somewhat strange way that can lead to an Easily Removable device with 1 pp more put into it costing 1 pp less overall. Such is the price of not using decimal points!

Superman does not have the Interpose Advantage, despite being mentioned as an example of a character with this advantage in the Advantages chapter!

Superman has Acute Hearing as a Super Sense, but Hearing is already Acute (apparently this refers to his super-sense hearing)

The Powerhouse archetype has a lifting capacity of 1,600 tons, which is described as enough to lift the Leaning Tower of Pisa or an entire train. The Leaning Tower of Pisa weighs about 16,000 tons. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leaning_Tower_of_Pisa. The 2e core book (p 37) described a freight train as requiring about a 16,000 ton heavy load. So it looks like someone accidentally added a zero when describing how much the Powerhouse can lift.

It's also incorrect to describe the Powerhouse as able to lift 40 times as much as the Paragon: "whereas the Powerhouse can lift forty times that amount"; the Powerhouse can lift only four times as much as the Paragon.

Under Sleight of Hand (pg 64), it says that Escaping a Grab is an Acrobatics or Athletics check. However, under Escape on page 176 it says you can use an Athletics or Sleight of Hand check. Clearly one of these passages deserves errata.*

In general, modifiers are not optional, so Partial modifiers are by no means obvious how to apply in many circumstances. This needs rethinking.

The Partial area extra needs to be redone because it isn't balanced: viewtopic.php?f=27&t=37648

It is completely unclear how Multiattack extra's "hit multiple targets" function works.

Shapeable also needs errata:

UnkindMirror wrote:
Narmio wrote:Just as an aside, the Shapeable area must be a maths error. It provides a 30 cubic foot shapeable area. In real money that's slightly less than a cubic meter, or roughly the size of a large bathtub. Whoops.

On the other hand, since Shapeable also makes no mention at all of how thin one can stretch its volume, nor states how much volume is necessary to affect someone, it would seem that there's nothing in the way of thinning it to a hair's breadth and razor-floss an entire battlefield's worth of enemies with it.

Needless to say, that one requires errata.


Pg 94- Dazzle, one too many "t's":
Two degrees leave it disabled (–5 penalty) while tthree degrees leave the sense unaware


It's strange that the DC 15 Athletics check for +1 ground speed isn't mentioned under Move on page 176, since players of characters without ranks in Athletics may never even know that the running rule exists (it's listed in the index at the back, but they'd have no reason to look it up). I hope this is changed in the M&M 3e printing.

Similarly, on page 48 Strength mentions that it adds to "How far you can jump." This should be removed as a separate item, as it's redundant with adding to Athletics skill checks; Jumping distance is based on Athletics, which is based on Strength. However, adding a reference to the fact that Athletics determines how far you can jump would be quite handy. E.g., "Athletics skill checks (which determine how far you can jump)."

Black Canary's Affliction powers don't list what they are resisted by. Clearly it's Fortitude, but this still needs errata.
Last edited by Elric on Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:15 pm, edited 21 times in total.
3e Builds, 2e Builds, Index of 2e Official Rules Answers & General Resources (includes character creation and fight examples)

User avatar
The Shadow
Luminary
Luminary
Posts: 2853
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: Oregon, USA
Contact:

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby The Shadow » Fri Jul 16, 2010 7:38 am

The Psionic archetype is apparently paying 1 pp/rank for Mind Reading, but it's listed as 2 pp/rank elsewhere.

The Healing power references an Action modifier that is not mentioned anywhere else. Is it supposed to be Healing-specific (and thus in blue), or should it be taken out?

EDIT: Whoops, Variable has it too.
"All right, I am not the Shadow. You have nothing at all to worry about. Except, oh, wait, I'm pointing a gun at you."

--The Shadow

User avatar
Dr Archeville
Cosmic Entity
Cosmic Entity
Posts: 7990
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 2:55 pm
Location: R'lyeh
Contact:

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby Dr Archeville » Fri Jul 16, 2010 8:04 am

The Powers of the Gadgeteer Archetype (pg. 36) come out to 48 points, not 42.
Come join us at http://www.freedomplaybypost.com/index.php ! (current status: site and chat stable, Wiki pending)

User avatar
UnkindMirror
Overlord
Overlord
Posts: 4644
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:44 pm

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby UnkindMirror » Fri Jul 16, 2010 8:15 am

Dr Archeville wrote:The Powers of the Gadgeteer Archetype (pg. 36) come out to 48 points, not 42.

Huh?

Blaster: 24 points base + 1 AE = 25, -10 points for being Easily Removable: 15 points
Force Shield Belt: 21 points, -4 for being Removable: 17 points
Jet-Pack: 10 points, -2 for being Removable: 8 points
Quickness: 2 points

15 + 17 + 8 + 2 = 42

User avatar
Dr Archeville
Cosmic Entity
Cosmic Entity
Posts: 7990
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 2:55 pm
Location: R'lyeh
Contact:

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby Dr Archeville » Fri Jul 16, 2010 9:02 am

UnkindMirror wrote:
Dr Archeville wrote:The Powers of the Gadgeteer Archetype (pg. 36) come out to 48 points, not 42.

Huh?

Blaster: 24 points base + 1 AE = 25, -10 points for being Easily Removable: 15 points
Force Shield Belt: 21 points, -4 for being Removable: 17 points
Jet-Pack: 10 points, -2 for being Removable: 8 points
Quickness: 2 points

15 + 17 + 8 + 2 = 42

... d'oh! I missed the 6 points in Removable on the Force Shield Belt and Jet-Pack; I'm still not used to reading these newfangled sheets. ;)
Come join us at http://www.freedomplaybypost.com/index.php ! (current status: site and chat stable, Wiki pending)

pawsplay
Zealot
Zealot
Posts: 1241
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 3:10 pm

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby pawsplay » Fri Jul 16, 2010 9:28 am

I don't know if it's errata, per say, but the section on increasing power level on p. 189 repeat two paragraphs from p. 33.

Green Arrow is described as using Power Attack but lacks that feat.
Kickstarter: Tripod Machine presents Do Not Approach (Super-powered by M&M)
http://writeups.org - a big and growing collection of dual-statted character writeups!

User avatar
ScourgeXLVII
Disciple
Disciple
Posts: 676
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 4:18 pm

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby ScourgeXLVII » Fri Jul 16, 2010 9:52 am

Unconscious is listed no where as a condition, yet on the sample poison chart (p171), it lists it 5 times. I suspect it may be referring to asleep, based on Chloroform, or Incapacitated, based on Mustard, Chlorine, and Nerve Gas.
"You know youre too old for Superhero cartoons when you start considering the thousands of dollars of damage caused in the pursuit of a jewelry thief, who stole a couple hundred dollars in jewelry, which was probably insured anyway"
-My roommate

Paragon
Cosmic Entity
Cosmic Entity
Posts: 17629
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 10:27 am

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby Paragon » Fri Jul 16, 2010 11:10 am

ScourgeXLVII wrote:Unconscious is listed no where as a condition, yet on the sample poison chart (p171), it lists it 5 times. I suspect it may be referring to asleep, based on Chloroform, or Incapacitated, based on Mustard, Chlorine, and Nerve Gas.


Is there a meaningful difference between it and Incapacitated?
And we by this sole token;
Know we once were gods;
Take shame in being broken;
No matter how great the odds.

User avatar
ScourgeXLVII
Disciple
Disciple
Posts: 676
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 4:18 pm

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby ScourgeXLVII » Fri Jul 16, 2010 1:49 pm

Paragon wrote:
ScourgeXLVII wrote:Unconscious is listed no where as a condition, yet on the sample poison chart (p171), it lists it 5 times. I suspect it may be referring to asleep, based on Chloroform, or Incapacitated, based on Mustard, Chlorine, and Nerve Gas.


Is there a meaningful difference between it and Incapacitated?

Unconscious or asleep? If you mean unconscious, then no, other than the fact that it isn't listed elsewhere in the book, and people could probably work it out, but the same could be said for almost any errata listing.
"You know youre too old for Superhero cartoons when you start considering the thousands of dollars of damage caused in the pursuit of a jewelry thief, who stole a couple hundred dollars in jewelry, which was probably insured anyway"
-My roommate

KP
Bystander
Bystander
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 4:18 am

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby KP » Fri Jul 16, 2010 2:51 pm

Great Endurance is apparently a General Advantage but it is listed in the Combat Advantages table on page 70 rather than the General Advantages table on the following page.

User avatar
Sir Speebs
Henchman
Henchman
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 12:30 pm

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby Sir Speebs » Sat Jul 17, 2010 8:49 am

The Joker has a two-degree Affliction attack inflicting the prone and immobilized conditions, but both are listed under Affliction's second degree of failure.

User avatar
Magius del Cotto
Heavyweight
Heavyweight
Posts: 515
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 4:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby Magius del Cotto » Sat Jul 17, 2010 4:53 pm

The Luck Control power lists several references to "Luck Points", but what these are and how they are used are not detailed anywhere else in the book. The closest I can see is the Luck Advantage, which provides a set number per session, and does not reference points in any fashion.
On a related note, Hero Points refer to Luck Control in reference to using Hero Points to improve others' rolls, but the Luck Control power doesn't mention Hero Points at all. Likely, from this and the previous bit of information, means that the references to Luck Points should instead be to Hero Points.
Magius out.

User avatar
The Shadow
Luminary
Luminary
Posts: 2853
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: Oregon, USA
Contact:

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby The Shadow » Sat Jul 17, 2010 9:59 pm

There appears to be an inconsistency between the description of the Dazed condition on pages 17-18, and the description of Free Actions on page 168. The former says you can substitute a free action for your standard action "as usual" but the latter makes clear that "as usual" you never need to substitute, as you can make one or more free actions during another action.

The text of the Concealment power on page 91 references page 91 for rules on Concealment, when it should be referencing page 173.
"All right, I am not the Shadow. You have nothing at all to worry about. Except, oh, wait, I'm pointing a gun at you."



--The Shadow

User avatar
Magius del Cotto
Heavyweight
Heavyweight
Posts: 515
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 4:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby Magius del Cotto » Sun Jul 18, 2010 5:55 am

Pointed out by GrimmShade in the General Forum:

grimmshade wrote:In the Affliction Effect, it says that for the first 2 degree conditions the target rolls Resistance each turn, but for the 3rd degree condition the target resists every minute.

In the Dazzle power description, it only says the target rolls resistance each turn to recover, apparently for all 3 conditions degrees.

Which is correct?

User avatar
Karma
Firebrand
Firebrand
Posts: 888
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 10:22 pm
Location: Halloween Town
Contact:

Re: Post DCA Hero's Handbook Errata Here

Postby Karma » Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:13 pm

On page 15, under "Circumstance Modifiers", the same paragraph is repeated twice.


The robot on page 165 is listed as having spent -22 points on abilities, but it actually comes out to -24. The total points spent is correct.
It's also listed as having a +1 bonus with its unarmed attack, which is incorrect; it has a +4 bonus from its ranks in Close Combat (Unarmed).


Return to “Errata”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest