Limits to Metamorph on Herolab

Discuss Lone Wolf's Hero Lab, the official licensed Mutants & Masterminds superhero creation and advancement tool.
Graeme27uk
Supporting Cast
Supporting Cast
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:47 am

Limits to Metamorph on Herolab

Postby Graeme27uk » Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:36 am

Herolab seems to "only" go up to 5 different forms with metamorph. Is this correct?

Is there anyway I can increase the number of forms I can stat, or is it easier to just create alternative character profiles?

DarkMaster
Henchman
Henchman
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Limits to Metamorph on Herolab

Postby DarkMaster » Sun Feb 28, 2010 2:13 pm

Progression might do what you want here.

Paragon
Cosmic Entity
Cosmic Entity
Posts: 17629
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 10:27 am

Re: Limits to Metamorph on Herolab

Postby Paragon » Sun Feb 28, 2010 6:23 pm

I think this is one of the intrinsic limits of how the program handles portfolios; if you notice five is also the cap on how many minions you can build in one portfolio and other similar things.
And we by this sole token;
Know we once were gods;
Take shame in being broken;
No matter how great the odds.

User avatar
Woodclaw
Luminary
Luminary
Posts: 2636
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 3:33 am
Location: Italia

Re: Limits to Metamorph on Herolab

Postby Woodclaw » Mon Mar 01, 2010 12:27 am

Using the editor you can increase or decrease the maximum number of minions/metamorphs/etc. but the more you have the slower the program will be.
"Yes, it's a bloody flying alligator setting fire to my city!"

Sam Vimes (Guards! Guards!)


From a dark corner of my mind (my build's thread)
From another dark corner of my mind (my Deviantart page)

Graeme27uk
Supporting Cast
Supporting Cast
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:47 am

Re: Limits to Metamorph on Herolab

Postby Graeme27uk » Mon Mar 01, 2010 4:03 am

Woodclaw wrote:Using the editor you can increase or decrease the maximum number of minions/metamorphs/etc. but the more you have the slower the program will be.


How do you do that?

User avatar
Woodclaw
Luminary
Luminary
Posts: 2636
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 3:33 am
Location: Italia

Re: Limits to Metamorph on Herolab

Postby Woodclaw » Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:40 am

Graeme27uk wrote:
Woodclaw wrote:Using the editor you can increase or decrease the maximum number of minions/metamorphs/etc. but the more you have the slower the program will be.


How do you do that?


This should do it:

- Go to the Tools menu and lauch the editor.
- Create a new Data file
- Go to the right section (Feats, Power, etc.) and make a duplicate of the thing you are interested in
- Click the bootstrap button and add or remove any number of minions/metamorphs as you like
- Add a unique ID to the new feat you have created
- Eventually fill the Replace thing ID section with the original feat/power ID (you can get it from the New Copy list)
- Save the data file

This should allow you to increase/decrease the maximum number of minions/sidekicks/metamorphs at will. Only remember that everytime you need to alter the maximum respect to the last settings you have to redit the data file.
"Yes, it's a bloody flying alligator setting fire to my city!"

Sam Vimes (Guards! Guards!)


From a dark corner of my mind (my build's thread)
From another dark corner of my mind (my Deviantart page)

Graeme27uk
Supporting Cast
Supporting Cast
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:47 am

Re: Limits to Metamorph on Herolab

Postby Graeme27uk » Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:12 pm

Well I sort of have it working.

I have lots of Metamorph forms, though they all appear at once rather than coming up at the set number when Morph is active.

I have copied the Metamorph Feat and copied the bootstraps, scripts, etc.

However, when I select the Metamorph v2, it automatically comes up with all 15 forms without selecting anything.

User avatar
Woodclaw
Luminary
Luminary
Posts: 2636
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 3:33 am
Location: Italia

Re: Limits to Metamorph on Herolab

Postby Woodclaw » Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:59 pm

I forgot one thing, each Bootstraps has a line of code under the condition button that looks like this:

(fieldval:minTotal >= 5) & (fieldval:minParActv <> 0)

You have to replace the number I outlined in red with the progressive number of the form (6 on the sixth, 7 on the seventh etc). The rest of the elements of the condition (timing etc.) must be identical to the other Bootstraps.
"Yes, it's a bloody flying alligator setting fire to my city!"

Sam Vimes (Guards! Guards!)


From a dark corner of my mind (my build's thread)
From another dark corner of my mind (my Deviantart page)

Graeme27uk
Supporting Cast
Supporting Cast
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:47 am

Re: Limits to Metamorph on Herolab

Postby Graeme27uk » Mon Mar 01, 2010 3:14 pm

Woodclaw wrote:I forgot one thing, each Bootstraps has a line of code under the condition button that looks like this:

(fieldval:minTotal >= 5) & (fieldval:minParActv <> 0)

You have to replace the number I outlined in red with the progressive number of the form (6 on the sixth, 7 on the seventh etc). The rest of the elements of the condition (timing etc.) must be identical to the other Bootstraps.


Did that. Doesn't work for some reason. I copied everything across.

User avatar
Woodclaw
Luminary
Luminary
Posts: 2636
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 3:33 am
Location: Italia

Re: Limits to Metamorph on Herolab

Postby Woodclaw » Mon Mar 01, 2010 4:45 pm

Graeme27uk wrote:
Woodclaw wrote:I forgot one thing, each Bootstraps has a line of code under the condition button that looks like this:

(fieldval:minTotal >= 5) & (fieldval:minParActv <> 0)

You have to replace the number I outlined in red with the progressive number of the form (6 on the sixth, 7 on the seventh etc). The rest of the elements of the condition (timing etc.) must be identical to the other Bootstraps.


Did that. Doesn't work for some reason. I copied everything across.


I don't know what to say, it worked the first time I used it, but now I'm having the same problem. I think it's better if you ask the question into the Lone Wolf's Herolab forum.
"Yes, it's a bloody flying alligator setting fire to my city!"

Sam Vimes (Guards! Guards!)


From a dark corner of my mind (my build's thread)
From another dark corner of my mind (my Deviantart page)


Return to “Hero Lab”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests