Troubles with making a power

Discuss Lone Wolf's Hero Lab, the official licensed Mutants & Masterminds superhero creation and advancement tool.
Teafo
Hireling
Hireling

Troubles with making a power

Postby Teafo » Sun Sep 22, 2013 9:41 pm

So I have a character concept, but have been struggling with how exactly to make a power idea work. The character is an investigative type, possibly a biologist or chemist by trade with the ability to determine enemy weaknesses given enough information. A crude example would be determining that a vampire has allergies to garlic or sunlight, and then using that knowledge to his advantage. In power terms, I had planned for this character to have a handgun that he makes special ammunition for to take advantages of these weaknesses.

I would assume that it would fall into some kind of blast effect, but I have no idea how to describe the variable nature of the ammunition, and how it would be put into actual practice power-wise. In previous 2e I had looked at somehow making a Nemesis power that required investigation first, but I don't think that works as well as what I am going for, plus most GMs didn't really like the Nemesis power at all (with good reason).

So does anyone have an idea of how to create this power, while allowing for the extra damage that would come from knowing an enemy weakness? Thank you all in advance, and to the moderators, if this isn't the proper place to post a question like this, I apologize, but I was unsure where exactly it would fit best :/

JDRook
Superhero
Superhero

Re: Troubles with making a power

Postby JDRook » Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:55 pm