Mutants & Masterminds
HQ    ABOUT M&M    SUPER-VISION    GIMMICK'S GADGETS    M&M SUPERLINK    ATOMIC THINK TANK    M&M SHOP
Saving the world, one d20 roll at a time

Dr. Zero's Last Hurrah (OOC) *Finished*

This forum is the place for Mutants & Masterminds Play-By-Post games. Please read the M&M Game Room rules before starting or joining a game. Enjoy!

Re: Dr. Zero's Last Hurrah (OOC)

Postby SDarkshine » Thu Oct 11, 2012 4:54 pm

flynnarrel wrote:Yeah... a more socially apt character **cough** Deje **cough** might be able to sway him.


Who, me?!? I could give it a try...hmm..maybe it could work with him...

BTW, that mentioning of Zashin...
...I see what you did there :wink: .
If someone who usually boasts goes silent, RUN! It means that they are about to hit harder.

SDarkshine's Character Builds
User avatar
SDarkshine
Hireling
Hireling
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 5:31 pm
Location: Orlando

Re: Dr. Zero's Last Hurrah (OOC)

Postby sweetja713 » Thu Oct 11, 2012 9:30 pm

Sure just cause you all wanna handle this peacefully. Can I change the intimidation check to coercing then and hold off on the attack?
sweetja713
Daredevil
Daredevil
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 1:51 pm

Re: Dr. Zero's Last Hurrah (OOC)

Postby Lord Fell » Thu Oct 11, 2012 9:37 pm

Yep. That's the "bonus" of going last.
User avatar
Lord Fell
Overlord
Overlord
 
Posts: 4358
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:38 pm

Re: Dr. Zero's Last Hurrah (OOC)

Postby roguescribner » Fri Oct 12, 2012 8:45 am

I'm back. I'll try to catch up as soon as I can and then get up a post when it's appropriate.
GM - Age of Heroes Chapter 2
Sarvak - The Injustice Gang
User avatar
roguescribner
Paragon
Paragon
 
Posts: 3431
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 9:10 am

Re: Dr. Zero's Last Hurrah (OOC)

Postby Lord Fell » Fri Oct 12, 2012 12:00 pm

re: attacking an object...
What I'm reading suggests to me that... if you choose to make an attack roll, you get an automatic Crit if you hit what you're attacking. At the same time... it doesn't indicate what happens if you miss. I'm sort of leaning towards a miss result means you actually miss -or at least fail to hit the object in a meaningful way.

The Forcefield has an active defense of Zero (0), and is Huge (-2), so it can be hit on a result of 8 or better. Spartan's 5 ain't going to cut it. Before I adjudicate the forcefield damage, I'd like some input as to whether that's correct or appropriate.
User avatar
Lord Fell
Overlord
Overlord
 
Posts: 4358
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:38 pm

Re: Dr. Zero's Last Hurrah (OOC)

Postby sweetja713 » Fri Oct 12, 2012 1:24 pm

That's kind of the way I always interpreted it. You don't have to make an attack roll for most stationery objects it'd be just making a routine check but if you do make the check and hit it's a finishing attack (crit). If you make the attack and don't hit then I'd say you either miss or if it makes no sense to miss (it's a huge fricken field) do no harm.
sweetja713
Daredevil
Daredevil
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 1:51 pm

Re: Dr. Zero's Last Hurrah (OOC)

Postby roguescribner » Fri Oct 12, 2012 1:49 pm

Yeah, a miss I'd either rule that the attack missed the target or hit the target but as a glancing blow or somesuch (no damage). I purposely rolled because I'd prefer to take the force field out in one or two turns if at all possible. :)
GM - Age of Heroes Chapter 2
Sarvak - The Injustice Gang
User avatar
roguescribner
Paragon
Paragon
 
Posts: 3431
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 9:10 am

Re: Dr. Zero's Last Hurrah (OOC)

Postby Gazman » Fri Oct 12, 2012 3:23 pm

I'm OK with my miss being a miss. I took that risk when I decided to roll instead of auto hitting.
User avatar
Gazman
Hero
Hero
 
Posts: 1503
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 11:55 pm
Location: Jersey

Re: Dr. Zero's Last Hurrah (OOC)

Postby Lord Fell » Sat Oct 13, 2012 9:57 am

@Sweetja
Are you going to change L'Char's action?
User avatar
Lord Fell
Overlord
Overlord
 
Posts: 4358
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:38 pm

Re: Dr. Zero's Last Hurrah (OOC)

Postby sweetja713 » Sun Oct 14, 2012 10:57 am

Already changed it in the original post but I can certainly move it to the end of the posts since I'm last in init.
sweetja713
Daredevil
Daredevil
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 1:51 pm

Re: Dr. Zero's Last Hurrah (OOC)

Postby roguescribner » Sun Oct 14, 2012 6:57 pm

Sonuvah...
GM - Age of Heroes Chapter 2
Sarvak - The Injustice Gang
User avatar
roguescribner
Paragon
Paragon
 
Posts: 3431
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 9:10 am

Re: Dr. Zero's Last Hurrah (OOC)

Postby Gazman » Mon Oct 15, 2012 2:31 pm

Hey, GM. What's the result of Spartan's attempt to demoralize Dr. Zero here?

*Edit* I guess it doesn't actually matter since he didn't make any rolls besides the failed persuasion.
User avatar
Gazman
Hero
Hero
 
Posts: 1503
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 11:55 pm
Location: Jersey

Re: Dr. Zero's Last Hurrah (OOC)

Postby Lord Fell » Mon Oct 15, 2012 2:43 pm

Uhm... good catch, but also entirely right. He wouldn't have been effected in a mechanical way.
Save vs. Demoralize (DC17) (1d20+10=24)
Dr. Zero gives not one tuppence for your insolence, boy!
User avatar
Lord Fell
Overlord
Overlord
 
Posts: 4358
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:38 pm

Re: Dr. Zero's Last Hurrah (OOC)

Postby roguescribner » Mon Oct 15, 2012 3:29 pm

I guess Matrix will try, try again. Hopefully there's a better result this round. Save for something else happening...
GM - Age of Heroes Chapter 2
Sarvak - The Injustice Gang
User avatar
roguescribner
Paragon
Paragon
 
Posts: 3431
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 9:10 am

Re: Dr. Zero's Last Hurrah (OOC)

Postby Lord Fell » Mon Oct 15, 2012 3:46 pm

Uhm...

You guys are aware that he just unleashed a squad of killer robots on you?
User avatar
Lord Fell
Overlord
Overlord
 
Posts: 4358
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:38 pm

PreviousNext

Return to M&M Game Room



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests