Alter form

The place to discuss using and abusing the first edition Mutants & Masterminds rules. Rules questions, rules interpretations, house rules, and more rules.
Locked
Animax
Groupie
Groupie
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:53 am

Alter form

Post by Animax » Tue May 31, 2005 8:42 am

Question. I am in a awesome campaign ran by Silent Tiger, and I am facing hardware I want to destroy.

I have Alterenative form, and I shift from Energy, to solid.

What I want to know is could I shift to energy <immaterial/ethereal> put my fist into a computer console and then shift to my steel form without losing a limb?

Would I take damage? would the computer console take damage?

Dragonspar
Supporting Cast
Supporting Cast
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 12:21 pm
Location: in the palm of your right hand

Post by Dragonspar » Tue May 31, 2005 8:49 am

as you are going from incorp, to solid to do damage, that sounds like phase attack to me. I would rule you need to either purchase or Extra effort to get phase attack, then you would keep the limb, and damage the computer.
THE TURTLE MOVES!

Anthony
Luminary
Luminary
Posts: 2591
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 12:28 am

Post by Anthony » Tue May 31, 2005 10:01 am

If you didn't have phase attack, I'd probably still let you do it, but you would take damage equal to the hardness of the object, as a phase attack (i.e. a fortitude save).

farik
Mod Squad
Mod Squad
Posts: 5654
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 9:44 pm
Location: I'm lost in some distant part of Nebraska, on a ship -- a LIVING ship

Post by farik » Tue May 31, 2005 12:54 pm

Like Dagonspar I'd require extra effort.
One man's hobo booze is another man's fiiiine sippin' wine.

Oh, and by the way, I don't use drawbacks in my game, just complications.

Lechteron
Zealot
Zealot
Posts: 1045
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 9:26 pm

Post by Lechteron » Tue May 31, 2005 8:27 pm

I disagree. I'd treat it like if you normally go into something and turn normal while incorporeal. Shouldn't your energy form be damaging it though?

The Trapster
Luminary
Luminary
Posts: 2782
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 12:33 am
Location: Silicon Valley

Post by The Trapster » Wed Jun 01, 2005 12:35 am

It wont do any more damage that any other attack you have. It might be better aimed.
But it is up to the GM. 8)
A man without religion is like a fish without a bicycle.

Grim Luck
Cohort
Cohort
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 3:36 pm

Post by Grim Luck » Wed Jun 01, 2005 12:47 am

I'd say it would require extra effort, too.

Otherwise, I'd have it deal damage to you equal to the objects hardness, as has already been suggested.
All the world is fascinated with monkeys.

User avatar
The Argent Protector
Comrade
Comrade
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: San Pacifica and Hawthorne City
Contact:

Phase Attack?

Post by The Argent Protector » Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:42 am

Phase Attack? Is that in the Core Book or is it from something else??

Dragonspar
Supporting Cast
Supporting Cast
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 12:21 pm
Location: in the palm of your right hand

Post by Dragonspar » Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:57 am

its from the core book, don't know the page number. its either an extra or power stunt of incorporal. (I forget wich). either way, it can be Extra Efforted.
THE TURTLE MOVES!

User avatar
The Argent Protector
Comrade
Comrade
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: San Pacifica and Hawthorne City
Contact:

Cool

Post by The Argent Protector » Wed Jun 01, 2005 11:06 am

Thanks for clearing that up Dragonspar.

Locked