Errata & FAQ Updates

The place to discuss using and abusing the first edition Mutants & Masterminds rules. Rules questions, rules interpretations, house rules, and more rules.
faenril
Sidekick
Sidekick
Posts: 356
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 12:23 am
Location: Paris, FRANCE
Contact:

Postby faenril » Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:52 am

and what about the penetrating attack not present on the errata :wink: ?
Now! This is it!
Now is the time to choose!
Die and be free of pain or live and fight your sorrow!
Now is the time to shape your stories! Your fate is in your hands!

InnocentBystander
Henchman
Henchman
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 4:29 am

Postby InnocentBystander » Mon Aug 23, 2004 3:05 am

The Shadow wrote:Ummm. Don't ranks of super-abilities come off first?


Beside that would make having Innate Super strength worse than having it continuos, because with cont. SS drain had to "consume" SS before to drain normal Strength, with Innate it would go directly to strength (and BAB).

Anyone remeber from where it started all this confusion about permanent, Innate and c.?

I mean, IIRC at the begin you would have mad a power permanent, that, depending on the power, it would have been a flaw or a extra and that's was all. Then there was the rule that Permanent could not be used with Extra Effort, for some reason, making Super Strength better as Continuos then as Permanent, now there is Innate (BTW is a little unclear, can you use Extra Effort with Innate powers?)

It is just me or this part of the Errata get worse with every release?

User avatar
The Shadow
Luminary
Luminary
Posts: 2853
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: Oregon, USA
Contact:

Postby The Shadow » Mon Aug 23, 2004 11:45 am

Yes, there's nothing forbidding the use of Extra Effort with Innate powers.

I think the separation between Permanent and Innate was a crying need - in fact, I suggested it in a post shortly before it happened. The trouble was that Permanent had both good and bad aspects - always a problem in a advantage/disadvantage system. Splitting them made sense.

But of course the solution is not entirely without its own problems. At some point the GM just has to use common sense. "Yes, a poison can drain an elephant's strength."
"All right, I am not the Shadow. You have nothing at all to worry about. Except, oh, wait, I'm pointing a gun at you."

--The Shadow

InnocentBystander
Henchman
Henchman
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 4:29 am

Postby InnocentBystander » Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:58 pm

The Shadow wrote:Yes, there's nothing forbidding the use of Extra Effort with Innate powers.

I think the separation between Permanent and Innate was a crying need - in fact, I suggested it in a post shortly before it happened. The trouble was that Permanent had both good and bad aspects - always a problem in a advantage/disadvantage system. Splitting them made sense.

But of course the solution is not entirely without its own problems. At some point the GM just has to use common sense. "Yes, a poison can drain an elephant's strength."


"crying need" is an exageration, and I think that in this case the solution created more problems than it solved.

User avatar
The Shadow
Luminary
Luminary
Posts: 2853
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: Oregon, USA
Contact:

Postby The Shadow » Mon Aug 23, 2004 4:16 pm

You're entitled to your opinion, but let's not get into a debate on this thread.
"All right, I am not the Shadow. You have nothing at all to worry about. Except, oh, wait, I'm pointing a gun at you."



--The Shadow

User avatar
BattleStar
Bystander
Bystander
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 8:43 am

Postby BattleStar » Wed Dec 29, 2004 2:45 pm

Where do I find the errata?
Have no fear for Battlestar is here!

User avatar
Marshal Law
Superhero
Superhero
Posts: 1990
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 12:45 pm

Postby Marshal Law » Wed Dec 29, 2004 2:49 pm

In the "Gimmick's Gadgets" section of the site.

http://www.mutantsandmasterminds.com/gimmicks_gadgets/
HAWK-Girl: Init +9; Melee: +8/+8; Def: +8 (Ff +2); Saves T/F/R/W +8/+5/+5/+5

WordSmythe
Bystander
Bystander
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 6:51 pm

Super-Running Errata?

Postby WordSmythe » Sat Jan 08, 2005 9:17 pm

Page 80, Mutants & Masterminds Core Book 1

POWER STUNT
* Super-Running: Every rank you have in running doubles your sprint speed (so rank 10 Running with Super-Running has a sprint multiplier of x4,096, for example).

Wouldn't rank 10 equal a x1,024 multiplier, as per the Table 5-2: Doubling Values on Page 59?

I find it hard that no one else has caught this error, but it is not listed in the official errata, nor in Annual #1.

User avatar
Belmonte
Cohort
Cohort
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 5:26 pm

Postby Belmonte » Sat Jan 08, 2005 9:28 pm

2^10 = 1024; Running is sprinting, so *4, total running speed is *4096. It's right.
"Even the sun goes down, lady..."

WordSmythe
Bystander
Bystander
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 6:51 pm

Postby WordSmythe » Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:55 am

Sprint is [base speed]*4. Not the [mulitiplier]*4.

Let's say a character has Running rank 10 and the Super-Running power stunt.

Each rank of running adds 5 to base speed.

So, her base speed is 30 + [10*5] = 80.

Hustle is [base speed]*2 (80*2 = 160).

Sprint is [base speed]*4 (80*4 = 320).

Now the Super-Running power stunt doubles your sprint speed for every rank of Running power. (2*2*2*2*2*2*2*2*2*2 = 1,024)

4,096 represents a rank 12 multiplier.

User avatar
Marshal Law
Superhero
Superhero
Posts: 1990
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 12:45 pm

Postby Marshal Law » Sun Jan 09, 2005 6:31 am

I see no error, the basic x4 is doubled for every rank in super-running.

Rank 0 (IE, ordinary sprint multiplier): x4
Rank 1 x8
Rank 2 x16
Rank 3 x32
Rank 4 x64
Rank 5 x128
Rank 6 x256
Rank 7 x512
Rank 8 x1024
Rank 9 x2048
Rank 10 x4096
HAWK-Girl: Init +9; Melee: +8/+8; Def: +8 (Ff +2); Saves T/F/R/W +8/+5/+5/+5

User avatar
Belmonte
Cohort
Cohort
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 5:26 pm

Postby Belmonte » Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:30 am

Uh. Wordsmythe? I was talking total multiplier, not simply the power multiplier, which seems to be what they're referring to in the snippet.

[Base*4]*1096 = [Base*4096], y'know? :)
"Even the sun goes down, lady..."

WordSmythe
Bystander
Bystander
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 6:51 pm

Postby WordSmythe » Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:59 pm

Okay, my bad.

I guess the wording confused me.

User avatar
The Fifth Wanderer
Sidekick
Sidekick
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 12:20 pm
Location: Lost in Time and Space

Postby The Fifth Wanderer » Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:41 am

Small suggestion here: Could we get differnet versions of the errata posted for different printings of the book? That way people who own different printings will know what errrata applies to their book.

And could we get an update to the FAQ?
Dread Mad God and Keeper of the M&M3e/DCA Resources thread.

The Secret World Chronicle - A superhero audiobook podcast.

WillyPete
Bystander
Bystander
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 9:29 pm
Location: Chicago, Illinois

Postby WillyPete » Wed Feb 02, 2005 8:12 pm

Frozen Yakman wrote:Oh yeah, can you clarify the Super-Power feature for Headquarters?

If you have a PL10 headquarters does that mean you could have a

Super-Power X +10 [Cost: 10pp/rank]?

Other questions:

What effect types are the following powers- Luck, Neutralize, Slow, Weather Control, Reincarnate, Super-Skill, Blending, Astral Projection, Time Control, Spinning, Alternate Form (in general), and Super-Speed (desides the obvious movement effect?


1. Yes, please! Clarification would be nice...
2. As I understand what the rules say, it costs no more to have a SuperPower as part of your Headquarters, than it costs to have a Swimming Pool...
3. Some of those powers aren't really suitable for a Headquarters...
Luck, for example!
Neutralize might be a nice addition to Holding cells, or it *might* be usable as a par of the HQ's defenses...
Slow is something you might use as above, but a bit more marginal.
Weather Control is a Supervillain staple! Hard to find the enemy HQ in all that fog, especially with those lightning bolts crashing down!
Reincarnate might be part of a VERY high-tech Medical Bay...
Super-Skill is obviously a very advanced Lab, database, or other embellishment.
Blending would just be a further way to hide the HQ.
Astral Projection I could see as a device which grants that power to someone in the HQ, but I don't think I'd allow the entire HQ to 'Astrally Project'! Would you want to leave the entire team's bodies behind?
Time Control is another exotic 'base defense' power.
Spinning? You're joking, right? Hmmm...
Nope, can't think of any good reason to want it, nor to allow it...
I'm not sure if I'd allow it, but 'Alternate Form' just might be the way to simulate those Villains with a Charter Membership in the "Base of the Month Club"!
{"You only thought I was located in a Submarine beneath the Antarctic Ice Caps... Little did you know that I recently transferred to a Secret City hidden deep in the Himalayas! Hah!"}
I don't think Superspeed is one of the powers you can take for an HQ, for cost reasons...

I hope this helps!
Good Luck,
William A. Peterson
"There is nothing quite so exhiliarating in the World as being shot at... and missed!" Winston Churchill


Return to “Mutants & Masterminds Rules (1e)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest