luck (again me)

The place to discuss using and abusing the first edition Mutants & Masterminds rules. Rules questions, rules interpretations, house rules, and more rules.
User avatar
Rickynet
Henchman
Henchman
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 5:11 pm

luck (again me)

Postby Rickynet » Sat Nov 12, 2005 5:00 pm

well sorry about to many post but i'm revising the manual adding the errata and change, the manual says can add the rank to any die roll you make during your round, in the first game in what my characters has luck i say no to add luck to damage, it seen to be, lucks add to damage, but says luck stack

User avatar
Evendur
Zealot
Zealot
Posts: 1397
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 1:31 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Postby Evendur » Mon Nov 14, 2005 7:58 pm

You're right , you can't add luck to Damage, simply for the reason that it isn't a die roll. You don't roll for damage, it is just calculated with fixed numbers. You add to the attack roll or damage save, But not the damage value itself. Though, if you took the Jinx Extra, you could make other character's Damage saves harder to make.
H.E.R.O.I.C. Member of the 2nd Rank
Owner of a map to Paradise Island

"See this med-pack? See this gun? These mean the only people dying here today are the ones I kill!" -Field Medic, Cyberpunk Card Game

User avatar
Rickynet
Henchman
Henchman
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 5:11 pm

Postby Rickynet » Tue Nov 15, 2005 5:22 am

but the manual say add you rank in luck to any dice roll, damage is a dice roll

User avatar
Evendur
Zealot
Zealot
Posts: 1397
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 1:31 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Postby Evendur » Tue Nov 15, 2005 1:29 pm

Are you using the optional rule that where the attacker makes a damage roll instead of the defender making a damage save?. I would maybe ask your GM to make a ruling on this unless you are the GM, just because you could have a lowest possible bonus of +31 to the roll at PL10 if you maxed out your damage, luck, and used the Power Attack feat. So if you rolled a 20, and got a critical hit on your attack, you would have gotten 55 on your roll. And therefore, any PL 10 character would fail by 20 at best if the DC for the roll was maxed.

So, while it is ultimately up to the GM but I would say no
H.E.R.O.I.C. Member of the 2nd Rank

Owner of a map to Paradise Island



"See this med-pack? See this gun? These mean the only people dying here today are the ones I kill!" -Field Medic, Cyberpunk Card Game

User avatar
Rickynet
Henchman
Henchman
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 5:11 pm

Postby Rickynet » Tue Nov 15, 2005 6:18 pm

1) i'm the GM
2) is not a optional rule for damage

PL 15

example: energy blast +12
melee attack roll: 1d20 + melee attack
(if succed) damage = 1d20 + 12 (energy blast)

example: energy blast +8 luck +7
melee attack roll : 1d20 + 7 + melee attack
if succed damage = 1d20 + 8 + 7

User avatar
Evendur
Zealot
Zealot
Posts: 1397
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 1:31 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Postby Evendur » Tue Nov 15, 2005 6:33 pm

look on page 127 of M&M 1E "Damage Save= 15+Damage Save Bonus"

On page 128 There is a red box where there is an optional rule for Damage Rolls where you roll to beat a Damage Roll DC instead of normally rolling a Damage Save versus the the Damage DC
H.E.R.O.I.C. Member of the 2nd Rank

Owner of a map to Paradise Island



"See this med-pack? See this gun? These mean the only people dying here today are the ones I kill!" -Field Medic, Cyberpunk Card Game

User avatar
Rickynet
Henchman
Henchman
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 5:11 pm

Postby Rickynet » Tue Nov 15, 2005 6:38 pm

damage roll =! damage save

damage roll is the amount of damage do you make with and attack, no the damage save, ni the defense optional rule with a dice roll

User avatar
Evendur
Zealot
Zealot
Posts: 1397
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 1:31 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Postby Evendur » Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:07 pm

I didn't say defense roll. I said Damage Save. Which is DC 15+Damage Bonus.

Your Damage Save is 1d20+Constitution Modifier+Power Bonuses(up to PL)+Miscellaneous Modifiers

That is on the same page as the Optional Defense Roll

On the next page is another Optional Rule where you make a Damage Roll which is 1d20+Damage Bonus. The DC for this roll is 15+Constitution Bonus+Power Bonuses(up to PL)+Miscellaneous Modifiers.
H.E.R.O.I.C. Member of the 2nd Rank

Owner of a map to Paradise Island



"See this med-pack? See this gun? These mean the only people dying here today are the ones I kill!" -Field Medic, Cyberpunk Card Game

User avatar
Rickynet
Henchman
Henchman
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 5:11 pm

Postby Rickynet » Wed Nov 16, 2005 4:19 pm

i'm saying damage roll

example energy blast +6
damage = 1d20 + 6

AFAIK damage roll isn't optional, i the roll for know the amount of damege you make with your power

User avatar
farik
Mod Squad
Mod Squad
Posts: 5654
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 9:44 pm
Location: I'm lost in some distant part of Nebraska, on a ship -- a LIVING ship

Postby farik » Wed Nov 16, 2005 6:20 pm

Rickynet wrote:i'm saying damage roll

example energy blast +6
damage = 1d20 + 6

AFAIK damage roll isn't optional, i the roll for know the amount of damege you make with your power


This is wrong unless you are using the optional rule. Normally you do not roll damage. Instead the target rolls to see how badly they are hurt.
One man's hobo booze is another man's fiiiine sippin' wine.

Oh, and by the way, I don't use drawbacks in my game, just complications.

User avatar
Rickynet
Henchman
Henchman
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 5:11 pm

Postby Rickynet » Wed Nov 16, 2005 6:24 pm

well if that is an optional rule, how do you calculate the damage, simple with the rank power

example energy blast +6
damage +6

User avatar
farik
Mod Squad
Mod Squad
Posts: 5654
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 9:44 pm
Location: I'm lost in some distant part of Nebraska, on a ship -- a LIVING ship

Postby farik » Wed Nov 16, 2005 6:30 pm

Rickynet wrote:well if that is an optional rule, how do you calculate the damage, simple with the rank power

example energy blast +6
damage +6


The character who is hit rolls a damage save
the DC = 15 plus the attacking power

so in the case of being hit by an energy blast rank 6

the character hit by the energy blast would roll and try to save against a DC of 21.
One man's hobo booze is another man's fiiiine sippin' wine.



Oh, and by the way, I don't use drawbacks in my game, just complications.


Return to “Mutants & Masterminds Rules (1e)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest