1e M&M (Confused and looking for understanding?)

The place to discuss using and abusing the first edition Mutants & Masterminds rules. Rules questions, rules interpretations, house rules, and more rules.
RotnSoul
Bystander
Bystander

1e M&M (Confused and looking for understanding?)

Postby RotnSoul » Mon Oct 10, 2005 3:22 pm

Okay I'm new to M&M but I'm trying to get the swing of things.

So far I see that everything is bought buy PP (power points) however on the Character sheet I see where it sas BASE Defense - How do I know what the BASE is? Do you buy BASEs as well with PP?

Greyman
Luminary
Luminary

Postby Greyman » Mon Oct 10, 2005 4:02 pm

Base Defense is the simply amount you purchase directly with power points. On top of this various things provide bonuses to defense (for example, Dexterity provides a dodge bonus in 1e, as does the Dodge feat). You don't purchase these bonuses (except through purchasing the things that provide them). Your Defense score is the Base Defense + Bonuses.

RotnSoul
Bystander
Bystander

DMG

Postby RotnSoul » Mon Oct 10, 2005 4:12 pm

I have a blaster that uses Energy (Fire) but I can't find where it gives be the Base DMG for Fire? or is it just my Rank in Control Energy that is the DMG?

Paragon
Cosmic Entity
Cosmic Entity

Re: DMG

Postby Paragon » Mon Oct 10, 2005 6:12 pm

RotnSoul wrote:I have a blaster that uses Energy (Fire) but I can't find where it gives be the Base DMG for Fire? or is it just my Rank in Control Energy that is the DMG?

Yes. The specific type of damage makes no difference in regard to how much it does.
And we by this sole token;
Know we once were gods;
Take shame in being broken;
No matter how great the odds.

RotnSoul
Bystander
Bystander

Postby RotnSoul » Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:46 pm

how do I know if something does Lethal or Stun DMG?

elspark
Compatriot
Compatriot

Postby elspark » Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:52 pm