Battlesuit Math

The place to discuss using and abusing the first edition Mutants & Masterminds rules. Rules questions, rules interpretations, house rules, and more rules.
Choice
Bystander
Bystander

Battlesuit Math

Postby Choice » Tue Aug 23, 2005 1:17 pm

I'm pretty new to this game and I've been making characters and learning the rules slowly, mostly by trial and error. One part of the game I am completely unsure on is the math involving battlesuits and Armor. I could really do with a step by step breakdown of the math involved. It is also possible I am completely wrong on a rule point or two, so feel free to correct me.

Let's say I am making the battlesuit given in the rulebook for Cyclone:

Armor +10

Extras: Energy Blast, Flight, Immunity, Super-Strength.

Power Stunts: Blindfight, Darkvision, Radio Broadcast, Radio Hearing, Super-flight

Flaws: Device.

Now, the Armor rules mention buying other powers as extras. Am I to assume that each of those Extras only cost one point each? I can see that for Immunity and Flight, but Super-Strength is expensive normally so getting it for a point per rank makes me nervous.

The stunts cost 2pp out right for each.

My math comes out to (Armor <1pp> + Energy Blast <1pp>+ Flight <1pp>+Immunity<1pp>+<Super-Strength<1pp>)* 10 Ranks + (5 stunts*2pp each) for a total of 60 points.

Which comes out to a character with Armor that protects at level 10, a Level 10 energy Blast, Level 10 Flight, 10 Immunities and 10 Ranks of super-Strength plus five stunts to go with it all with the Device Flaw.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Evendur
Zealot
Zealot

Postby Evendur » Tue Aug 23, 2005 1:42 pm

You've really got a good handle on the system.

But there is one thing you have wrong. A power that is made into an extra reduces it's cost by one. Most extras only cost 1pp/rank is b/c generally only the 2pp powers are used as extras.

So the Super Strength is worth 3pp/rank instead of its usual 4 pp/rank