shapeshift : mimic extra

The place to discuss using and abusing the first edition Mutants & Masterminds rules. Rules questions, rules interpretations, house rules, and more rules.
User avatar
Shadow
Sidekick
Sidekick
Posts: 357
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 7:32 pm

shapeshift : mimic extra

Postby Shadow » Thu Aug 11, 2005 3:33 pm

It says that you can mimic an attribute by shapeshifting into your subject. Does that mean that it has to be someone that you touch (that is there now) or can you shift into someone by memory? (whether you touched them or not) :)

User avatar
Bretbo
Mod Squad
Mod Squad
Posts: 1371
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 2:26 pm
Location: Beltsville, MD

Postby Bretbo » Thu Aug 11, 2005 4:47 pm

Moving this Thread to the Rules Section of the Forum.

User avatar
the_masochist
Heavyweight
Heavyweight
Posts: 547
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 9:35 am
Contact:

Postby the_masochist » Fri Aug 19, 2005 12:58 am

you can mimic anyone you can shape shift into, but you need the approprite extras to make it worthwhile, and that generally doesn't make it worthwhile

Hawkmansdaddy
Bystander
Bystander
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 8:40 am
Location: Thanagar, or what's left of it.

Postby Hawkmansdaddy » Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:33 pm

That is a good question.

clearly mimic is a touch power, so without the ranged extra you would have to have someone or something within reach to mimic it's attributes.
It's also sustained duration, so maybe you'd have to change the duration too?

There is nothing in the rules that specify mimicking from memory, although it could be assumed is some cases. IE, Beast-boy can 'mimic' a creatures attributes and natural weapons(powers) when he shapeshifts into them and he does so by memory.

I guess that makes it a judgement call for the GM.


Return to “Mutants & Masterminds Rules (1e)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest