Magic Missle?

The place to discuss using and abusing the first edition Mutants & Masterminds rules. Rules questions, rules interpretations, house rules, and more rules.
User avatar
the_masochist
Heavyweight
Heavyweight
Posts: 547
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 9:35 am
Contact:

Postby the_masochist » Tue Aug 09, 2005 7:33 pm

I don't understand why you have energy blast as an extra to be honest...

if you have the stun power as an extra to your strike power, you choose weather you want your power to stun or strike, it doesn't do both. for that you need to take stun seperatlty and have the triggered extra 'when energy blast 1 is used'. Now, if you want to choose between two different forms of energy blast (such as fire and electricity) I would say that requires a power stunt.

to fire more then one energy blast, you need auto fire or Multifire

User avatar
farik
Mod Squad
Mod Squad
Posts: 5654
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 9:44 pm
Location: I'm lost in some distant part of Nebraska, on a ship -- a LIVING ship

Postby farik » Tue Aug 09, 2005 8:59 pm

Not necessarily, if you search the forums you'll find the discussion of triggered/always triggered as an extra flaw combination to have 2 attacks affect the same target at the same time this is technically how energy field for the weapon power works as explained by Steve.

Whether this type of extra is allowed and to what degree is something each GM needs to decide if it's appropriate for their campaign.
One man's hobo booze is another man's fiiiine sippin' wine.

Oh, and by the way, I don't use drawbacks in my game, just complications.

User avatar
Rune
Zealot
Zealot
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2003 3:04 pm
Location: Houston, TX.

Postby Rune » Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:46 am

Thanks Farik.

Sorry I didn't explain that better. i meant that you could, for examplee take;

Magic Missile
effect, energy blast [extra triggered energy blast, flaw; always triggers]
Total cost: 3 per rank.

Buy rank 3, hit twice at rank 3 damage everytime you hit.
Rune

Zelda's Axiom
Whenever somebody tells you about "the five hundred ancient talismans" or "the nine legendary crystals" or whatever, you can be quite confident that Saving the World will require you to go out and find every last one of them.

User avatar
Tagnik
Groupie
Groupie
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 8:55 pm
Contact:

Postby Tagnik » Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:51 pm

This has been helpful :)

I don't think I will allow the Double Energy Blast thing.


Return to “Mutants & Masterminds Rules (1e)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest