Disintegrate, Create Object, and Forcefield

The place to discuss using and abusing the first edition Mutants & Masterminds rules. Rules questions, rules interpretations, house rules, and more rules.
Katsuya
Bystander
Bystander
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 12:54 am

Disintegrate, Create Object, and Forcefield

Postby Katsuya » Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:34 pm

A few questions relating to the above powers...

1. Can a forcefield stop disintegration from affecting stuff under it?(or shielded by it, if it is a single target)

2. If one applies a forcefield to thier created object(two powers), it would get a damage save twice your pl, correct?(assuming both are maxed, this is more of a question of stacking limits)

3.How many people/things can force field protect when used at 'normal range'(with the extra), being as no target limit is listed for either the area version or the touch range versions.

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
The Trapster
Luminary
Luminary
Posts: 2782
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 12:33 am
Location: Silicon Valley

Re: Disintegrate, Create Object, and Forcefield

Postby The Trapster » Thu Jul 21, 2005 11:38 pm

Katsuya wrote:A few questions relating to the above powers...

1. Can a forcefield stop disintegration from affecting stuff under it?(or shielded by it, if it is a single target)
No. Disintigate power is not effected about an intervening FF.
But I think story elements could effect the situation.
2. If one applies a forcefield to thier created object (two powers), it would get a damage save twice your pl, correct?(assuming both are maxed, this is more of a question of stacking limits)
No.
But I think story elements could effect the situation.
3.How many people/things can force field protect when used at 'normal range'(with the extra), being as no target limit is listed for either the area version or the touch range versions.
None. Force fields only protect the owner, unless you by an Extra.
A man without religion is like a fish without a bicycle.

Anthony
Luminary
Luminary
Posts: 2591
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 12:28 am

Re: Disintegrate, Create Object, and Forcefield

Postby Anthony » Fri Jul 22, 2005 12:50 am

Katsuya wrote:A few questions relating to the above powers...

1. Can a forcefield stop disintegration from affecting stuff under it?


It should reduce the power of the disintegrate, like it reduces the power of any attack that goes against a damage save.
2. If one applies a forcefield to thier created object(two powers), it would get a damage save twice your pl, correct?(assuming both are maxed, this is more of a question of stacking limits)

Stacking limits will mean it's damage save will be limited to your PL.

3.How many people/things can force field protect when used at 'normal range'(with the extra), being as no target limit is listed for either the area version or the touch range versions.


As many as you take actions to protect. The GM may limit the number of free actions you can take.

solidcobra
Bystander
Bystander
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 6:55 pm
Contact:

Postby solidcobra » Wed Aug 03, 2005 9:05 am

Looking at the villain, Damocles, and his burning sword...they need to make two damage saves. One against the weapon, and another against the forcefield.

User avatar
farik
Mod Squad
Mod Squad
Posts: 5654
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 9:44 pm
Location: I'm lost in some distant part of Nebraska, on a ship -- a LIVING ship

Postby farik » Wed Aug 03, 2005 7:34 pm

solidcobra wrote:Looking at the villain, Damocles, and his burning sword...they need to make two damage saves. One against the weapon, and another against the forcefield.


When it does damage it was reffered to as an "energy field" in 1e.

But to address your comment; yes it forced two damage saves but each damage save was limited by his PL.
One man's hobo booze is another man's fiiiine sippin' wine.

Oh, and by the way, I don't use drawbacks in my game, just complications.


Return to “Mutants & Masterminds Rules (1e)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests