Which one is right?

The place to discuss using and abusing the first edition Mutants & Masterminds rules. Rules questions, rules interpretations, house rules, and more rules.
Stule Brown
Henchman
Henchman
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 10:23 pm

Which one is right?

Postby Stule Brown » Thu Jul 21, 2005 5:18 pm

Hey!

Which one is right?

Telepathy +12
Extra
Mental Blast
Mind Control
Area
Memory Alteration
Astral Projection (Flaw: Uses 1/day, Tiring),
Illusion (Extra: Area, Damaging, Selective, Flaw: Limited – Only Creatures, Tiring)

Cost: 7/84pp

or


Telepathy +12
Extra
Mental Blast
Mind Control
Area
Memory Alteration
Astral Projection (Flaw: Uses 1/day, Tiring)
Illusion (Extra: Area, Damaging, Selective, Flaw: Limited – Only Creatures, Tiring)

Cost: 11/132pp

I'm kinda confused, lol!

I don't know if the Flaws subtract from the overall power or just the Extra that they are attached to.

User avatar
Patriarch
Compatriot
Compatriot
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 8:09 pm
Location: Colorado Springs

Postby Patriarch » Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:49 pm

Well, there's some debat about how that Area extra can be applied, but that isn't what you are asking about.

I don't have my book with me (one of my players is borrowing it), but let me try to break it down...remember, a power (or an extra) can not be flawed to 0pp.

Telepathy +12 [2pp/rank]
extra: Mental Blast [2pp/rank]
extra: Mind Control [1pp/rank]
extra: Area [1pp/rank]
extra: Memory Alteration [1pp/rank]
extra: Astral Projection (with 5 flaws) [1pp/rank]
extra: Illusion (with 4 extras, if I remember correctly that Damaging counts as two) (with 2 flaws) [3pp/rank]
Total = 11pp/rank

I would allow the flaws to apply only to the extras shown here, but I would not allow the Area to apply to all of the extras of Telepathy, only to Telepathy or one of the extras. I don't like the idea of floating extras, even though Steve might.
The early bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.

Stule Brown
Henchman
Henchman
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 10:23 pm

Postby Stule Brown » Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:16 pm

Much Appreciated!!!


Return to “Mutants & Masterminds Rules (1e)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest