Power Stunts

The place to discuss using and abusing the first edition Mutants & Masterminds rules. Rules questions, rules interpretations, house rules, and more rules.
Stule Brown
Henchman
Henchman
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 10:23 pm

Power Stunts

Postby Stule Brown » Thu Jul 21, 2005 6:50 am

Hey!

With Power Stunts, can you add powers to additional powers?

Like...

Telepathy +10
Extra: Mind Control
PS: Illusion (E: Area, Damaging, Selective, F: Limited – Only Creatures), Astral Projection,
Costs: 3 + 4 / 34 PP

Is this legal or am I misreading Power Stunts?

Sorry to ask so many stupid questions, but I just came back to the system and it's more complicated than I remember (and I am kinda dense).

User avatar
farik
Mod Squad
Mod Squad
Posts: 5654
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 9:44 pm
Location: I'm lost in some distant part of Nebraska, on a ship -- a LIVING ship

Postby farik » Thu Jul 21, 2005 8:49 am

Under 1e you could add other powers with different extras but there were rules.

1) the total PP of the PS cannot excede the PP of the base power (so if it costs more per rank you'd need fewer ranks)

2) when the PS is active the base power shuts off

So to really say whether or not your example is valid we'd need to see how many ranks were involved with each power and extra.
One man's hobo booze is another man's fiiiine sippin' wine.

Oh, and by the way, I don't use drawbacks in my game, just complications.

mofos21
Bystander
Bystander
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 1:13 pm
Location: Brooklyn

Postby mofos21 » Thu Jul 21, 2005 8:50 am

You can add another power as a power stunt as long as it is of the same effect type as the base power. So, Teleportation can be a PS of Flight, as they're both movement powers or Energy Blast can be a PS of Energy Field, as they're both attack powers. But, Energy Blast can't be a PS of Armor, as they are not of the same effect type.

A listing of effect types and the powers that fall into those categories can be found here. It's not an offical list, but Mr. Kenson said in reference to it that:
Steve Kenson wrote:Given a quick once-over, those look about right to me

The powers can not be used at the same time, though. For that, you would need to purchase the power as an extra.

Stule Brown
Henchman
Henchman
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 10:23 pm

Postby Stule Brown » Thu Jul 21, 2005 1:14 pm

Wow!

Thanks!

:lol:


Return to “Mutants & Masterminds Rules (1e)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests