Power Stunt Questions

The place to discuss using and abusing the first edition Mutants & Masterminds rules. Rules questions, rules interpretations, house rules, and more rules.
Locked
The General
Comrade
Comrade
Posts: 415
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 6:22 pm

Power Stunt Questions

Post by The General » Thu Jul 14, 2005 1:58 am

I tried the search feature but couldn't find what I needed to know.

Can a power stunt (secondary effect) with a duration of "permanent" be used at the same time as the primary effect?

Some examples:
Armor (PS: Sensory Protection)
Force Field (PS: Mental Protection)

I have seen the term "toggle on/off" mentioned for power stunts.
What exactly does this mean and can you give an example?

Thanks in advance!

Dragonspar
Supporting Cast
Supporting Cast
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 12:21 pm
Location: in the palm of your right hand

Post by Dragonspar » Thu Jul 14, 2005 10:04 am

basicly, a powerstunt can't be used/maintained at the same time as the main power, or another power stunt off the same main power.
so you question of:
Can a power stunt (secondary effect) with a duration of "permanent" be used at the same time as the primary effect?
is no.
to answer the toggle quesiton, lets say you had the examples you mentioned.
Armor (PS: Sensory Protection)
in this case, you would be able to change on your turn wich power was active, only one is on at a time, or used per turn. Either your armor protects from damage, or it protect your senses. only one at a time. this is toggle.

Force Field (PS: Mental Protection)
for this one, either you have mental protection, or you have the ability to put up a force field, not both at the same time. and not in the same turn.

Hope this answers your quesiton.
THE TURTLE MOVES!

The General
Comrade
Comrade
Posts: 415
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 6:22 pm

Post by The General » Thu Jul 14, 2005 2:17 pm

Thanks Dragonspar.

I know my question may seem silly but let me explain why I bothered to ask.

I was in another thread looking at a few write-up's.
Some characters had Sensory Protection as a Power Stunt.
I thought it was odd considering that it was usually bought as an Extra.

I knew that powers that had a permanent duration were "always active"
and couldn't be turned off even if the player wanted to.
The exception being that if the power was drained/neutralized/transferred.

I also knew the rules regarding how Power Stunts are supposed to work.

So, I asked myself, why would someone choose to have a "permanent" power as a Power Stunt?

As for the "toggle" a power stunt question.
I was thought that it was some kind of house rule to allow players to turn on/off powers using a half-action.

Locked