Using objects as weapons

The place to discuss using and abusing the first edition Mutants & Masterminds rules. Rules questions, rules interpretations, house rules, and more rules.
AtomicGorilla
Bystander
Bystander

Using objects as weapons

Post by AtomicGorilla » Sat Jun 18, 2005 4:35 pm

I'm new to MnM, but the throwing rules seem a bit off. Maybe I'm missing something. But if you decide to throw an object, you can deal damage equal to your Str+Super Str, right? And if the object's hardness is too low or the defenders protection is too high, the object is destroyed.

But it seems like the object should have damage limited to its hardness. Otherwise throwing a baseball does the same amount of damage as throwing a tank. But I can't find a rule about that anywhere.

And another rules I can't find is can you use a long item as a "reach" weapon or a big item as an area of effect. For example, can Minotaur grap a 50' lamp post and hit people 50' away like it was some kind of polearm? Could he pick up a tank and smash a 20'x10' area?

Any help is appreciated.

Patriarch
Compatriot
Compatriot

Post by Patriarch » Sat Jun 18, 2005 5:26 pm

The damage is your Strength bonus or twice the object's hardness, whichever is less. See IMPROVISED WEAPONS, page 112. I actually houserule this to the object's hardness instead of twice that.
The early bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.

The Trapster
Luminary
Luminary

Re: Using objects as weapons

Post by The Trapster » Sat Jun 18, 2005 6:32 pm

AtomicGorilla wrote:And another rules I can't find is can you use a long item as a "reach" weapon or a big item as an area of effect. For example, can Minotaur grap a 50' lamp post and hit people 50' away like it was some kind of polearm? Could he pick up a tank and smash a 20'x10' area?
It is not in the rule to get reach by picking up something. You'll have to come up with a rule on your own. For the amount of damage you use the IMPROVISED WEAPONS, page 112 again.