Feints, Inspire, Tied Initiative Counts

Ask M&M 2e rules questions that your fellow gamers can't answer. Only Mutants & Masterminds Line Developer (and creator) Steve Kenson can post replies. He visits the boards in between projects and convention appearances so please be patient!
User avatar
Elric
Overlord
Overlord
Posts: 4774
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 11:32 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Feints, Inspire, Tied Initiative Counts

Postby Elric » Thu Jul 31, 2008 12:26 am

Hi Steve,
Some unrelated questions:

1. Feints: If a player character Feints a villain using Bluff as a move action (taking the -5 penalty) and then wants to attack afterwards, does he know whether his feint succeeded before going to make his attack roll (e.g., so he can decide whether to Power Attack).

A) Yes. You tell him whether the feint succeeded after rolling the opposed check for it.
B) No, you don’t tell him whether it succeeded. But the player will get to see his own roll and, if the GM rolls dice publicly, the GM’s roll. So he may have an idea (or a very good idea if he gets to see both his roll and the GM’s roll) whether he succeeded.

If the situation was reversed and the villain was the one trying to Feint the player character,

C) At the time that the player is rolling to resist the villain feinting him, should you tell the player he's rolling to resist a feint (as opposed to just asking for an opposed roll with best of Bluff/Sense Motive/Will save)?

Should you tell the player whether the villain's feint succeeded:
D) Right after the opposed roll?
E) You tell the player whether the feint succeeded after you announce the villain's attack on the player, but before making the attack roll (in time so that the player could use the Dodge HP function to retain his Dodge bonus if the feint did succeed, for example). In essence, you only tell the player whether the feint succeeded when it would start to take effect in game.

A few more related questions:
F) Do the same general answers apply to Tricks? What about Demoralizing (with the Intimidate skill) or the Distract feat?

2. Inspire feat: Female Hulk is mind controlled by The Cosmic Mind. Her teammate, Sergeant America, has Inspire 5 and uses it on his allies. If he chooses to affect Female Hulk,

A) She gets +5 on her opposed Will save roll to break the Mind Control (for example, using the Extra Effort Willpower function) and would get +5 on attack rolls (and other rolls Inspire affects) if she breaks the Mind Control, but doesn’t get a +5 on attack rolls (and other rolls Inspire affects) against her teammates if she’s still Mind Controlled? Essentially, only the 'true her' gets the benefits of Inspire.
B) She simply gets +5 to all of her rolls that Inspire affects.
C) She doesn't qualify as an ally due to Mind Control and he can't Inspire her at all.

D) Does it matter whether the Mind Control has the Conscious extra as to which answer you'd give in this situation?

E) A pretty specific issue: if Mind Control isn't Conscious or is both Conscious and Subtle and a character has no memory of being controlled when the Mind Control ends and the answer as to how to resolve Inspire in this case is A) or B), would a character who breaks the Mind Control still get the bonuses from Inspire if the character can no longer remember the period of time earlier in the round in which Sergeant America used the Inspire feat?

3. This may just be a common sense issue where the GM shouldn’t follow the letter of the rules, but here goes:

What happens to the normal initiative count timing if two characters are tied at the same initiative?

For example, suppose that the villain Orion the Hunter is fighting against the spy hero Dark Widow and they both have initiative count 12, with Orion being first because of higher Dexterity.

Widow hits Orion with a Stun power and Orion misses his save enough to be, we’ll say dazed.

A round later, the letter of the rules says that Orion should get a save to recover from the Stun power on initiative 12 (page 70- "An Instant Lasting power allows a new saving throw each round on the initiative count when the effect occurred), before his action comes around. This means that even though he was dazed he’ll still end up getting to take an attack on Widow if he makes this follow-up save. In this case, Widow could have avoided this unpleasant occurrence simply by delaying until initiative count 11, but she didn’t do this (probably because the player wasn’t thinking about this problem).

In cases where characters are tied on the same initiative count, should the GM simply treat each character’s location as its own initiative count? For example, in the above situation the GM should put Orion at initiative count 12.5 and Widow at initiative count 12 and these should be treated as “separate initiatives” for the purpose of things like Lasting effects, Stuns wearing off, and so on?
3e Builds, 2e Builds, Index of 2e Official Rules Answers & General Resources (includes character creation and fight examples)

User avatar
Steve Kenson
Mastermind
Posts: 4118
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:20 am
Location: Freedom City, USA
Contact:

Re: Feints, Inspire, Tied Initiative Counts

Postby Steve Kenson » Fri Aug 01, 2008 5:04 pm

Elric wrote:1. Feints: If a player character Feints a villain using Bluff as a move action (taking the -5 penalty) and then wants to attack afterwards, does he know whether his feint succeeded before going to make his attack roll (e.g., so he can decide whether to Power Attack).

This is entirely up to the GM how much information to give the player(s). Nothing in the rules either requires or prohibits it (and this is the case for Tricks, Taunts, and so forth as well).

2. Inspire feat: Female Hulk is mind controlled by The Cosmic Mind. Her teammate, Sergeant America, has Inspire 5 and uses it on his allies. If he chooses to affect Female Hulk,

A) She gets +5 on her opposed Will save roll to break the Mind Control (for example, using the Extra Effort Willpower function) and would get +5 on attack rolls (and other rolls Inspire affects) if she breaks the Mind Control, but doesn’t get a +5 on attack rolls (and other rolls Inspire affects) against her teammates if she’s still Mind Controlled? Essentially, only the 'true her' gets the benefits of Inspire.

That's how I'd handle it.

D) Does it matter whether the Mind Control has the Conscious extra as to which answer you'd give in this situation?

Not really. If the Mind Control victim fails to break free of the control, chances are her actions will not make her an ally of the Inspiring character, so she won't gain any further benefit.

E) A pretty specific issue: if Mind Control isn't Conscious or is both Conscious and Subtle and a character has no memory of being controlled when the Mind Control ends and the answer as to how to resolve Inspire in this case is A) or B), would a character who breaks the Mind Control still get the bonuses from Inspire if the character can no longer remember the period of time earlier in the round in which Sergeant America used the Inspire feat?

Probably not.

3. This may just be a common sense issue where the GM shouldn’t follow the letter of the rules, but here goes:

What happens to the normal initiative count timing if two characters are tied at the same initiative?

The character who goes first (due to Dex or simple dice-off) goes first, as if his or her Initiative were some fraction greater (essentially the ".5" example you cite). It's practically the same as if the character had a "whole number" of initiative greater.
Steve Kenson - steve@greenronin.com
Green Ronin Publishing


Return to “Official Rules Questions (Second Edition)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest