Recovery and Knockback/Sustained powers; Surge

Ask M&M 2e rules questions that your fellow gamers can't answer. Only Mutants & Masterminds Line Developer (and creator) Steve Kenson can post replies. He visits the boards in between projects and convention appearances so please be patient!
User avatar
Elric
Overlord
Overlord
Posts: 4774
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 11:32 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Recovery and Knockback/Sustained powers; Surge

Postby Elric » Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:00 am

Hi Steve,

1. First, some questions on how the Recovery function of hero points interacts with Knockback. If Brick attacks Martial Artist and hits, and Martial Artist rolls low enough on the toughness save to be stunned by the attack, but then decides to buy off the stun using the Recovery hero point function as a reaction as soon as possible.

A) He doesn’t take Knockback.
B) He still takes Knockback. Buying off the stun doesn’t “happen fast enough” to prevent Knockback as he still suffers a stun from the attack (even if it doesn't last for long). But he can become un-stunned before crashing into a wall from the Knockback, thus ensuring he’ll get to use his Defensive Roll feat.
C) As B, but the character can't become un-stunned before crashing into a wall from Knockback (meaning he'll have to make a Concentration check to keep use of his Defensive Roll feat against the damage he takes from hitting the wall).
D) Something else?

2. In a similar vein, suppose Brick attacks Mystic and hits and Mystic rolls low enough on the toughness save to be stunned by the attack, but then decides to buy off the stun using the Recovery hero point function as a reaction as soon as possible. The Mystic has the Force Field power (you've said here that the Concentration check to maintain a Force Field when stunned should take place immediately).

A) The Mystic doesn’t have to roll a Concentration check to keep Force Field up (because spending a hero point on Recovery "works really fast").
B) The Mystic does have to roll a Concentration check to keep the force field up and if even if he buys off the stun as soon as possible, he has to wait until his next initiative count rolls around to take a free action to raise the Force Field if he failed the concentration check.
C) Something else?

D) In general, if a character is stunned and has a power with a Sustained duration that can be activated as a free action and fails the concentration check to keep that power active, I assume that the character has to wait until his initiative count to reactivate the power. Correct?

3. Assuming 2D is correct, then a defender who is stunned and fails the concentration check to keep his Force Field up still has the option of using Recovery to buy off the stun and then Surging out of turn (as indicated in your response to Paragon here) to take a free action to reactivate his Force Field (and take a standard action as well). At the same time, the attacker may want to Surge to attack the defender again before he can do this and the attacker’s allies may want to Surge to attack the defender again before he can do this.

A) Does the defender have to for sure wait until after the attacker’s turn to try this (so the attacker can use Extra Effort to Surge an take another attack before the defender can bring his force field back up)?

B) Besides the answer in A, how do you resolve what happens if multiple characters simultaneously want to Surge out of turn in reaction to a particular event that just occured?
3e Builds, 2e Builds, Index of 2e Official Rules Answers & General Resources (includes character creation and fight examples)

User avatar
Steve Kenson
Mastermind
Posts: 4118
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:20 am
Location: Freedom City, USA
Contact:

Re: Recovery and Knockback/Sustained powers; Surge

Postby Steve Kenson » Fri Aug 01, 2008 5:47 pm

Elric wrote:1. First, some questions on how the Recovery function of hero points interacts with Knockback. If Brick attacks Martial Artist and hits, and Martial Artist rolls low enough on the toughness save to be stunned by the attack, but then decides to buy off the stun using the Recovery hero point function as a reaction as soon as possible.

If you spend a hero point to shake off a stun when it is inflicted, treat it was if the stun result never happened, so none of its subsequent effect do, either.

3. Assuming 2D is correct, then a defender who is stunned and fails the concentration check to keep his Force Field up still has the option of using Recovery to buy off the stun and then Surging out of turn (as indicated in your response to Paragon here) to take a free action to reactivate his Force Field (and take a standard action as well).

Having re-read the relevant text of the Surge rules, I'd say Surging out-of-turn is not permitted, although choosing to Delay a Surge action is (in which case it works like a normal Delay).
Steve Kenson - steve@greenronin.com
Green Ronin Publishing


Return to “Official Rules Questions (Second Edition)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest