Immunity cheat?

Ask M&M 2e rules questions that your fellow gamers can't answer. Only Mutants & Masterminds Line Developer (and creator) Steve Kenson can post replies. He visits the boards in between projects and convention appearances so please be patient!
User avatar
Mendicant
Sidekick
Sidekick
Posts: 375
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 12:03 pm
Contact:

Immunity cheat?

Postby Mendicant » Thu Jul 17, 2008 1:53 pm

I have a question about how to handle the following abusive power structure:

Immunity 20 Lethal physical damage (flaw -1, converts damage to non-lethal) 10pp and Immunity 20, non lethal physical damage. 20 pp

Simply allow this as a 10pp loophole?

or

Do you say you can only apply an immunity to a particular effect once, so lethal damage is treated as non-lethal, but your non-lethal immunity doesn't apply and you make a normal toughness save against non-lethal physical damage?

Or

As GM, do you simply rule this as excessive gamesmanship and disallow it?
Insert solipsism here

User avatar
Steve Kenson
Mastermind
Posts: 4118
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:20 am
Location: Freedom City, USA
Contact:

Re: Immunity cheat?

Postby Steve Kenson » Fri Aug 01, 2008 6:03 pm

Mendicant wrote:As GM, do you simply rule this as excessive gamesmanship and disallow it?

Yes, because the Flaw is invalid: it doesn't actually weaken the power when the character is also immune to non-lethal damage. Therefore it's not a valid flaw.
Steve Kenson - steve@greenronin.com
Green Ronin Publishing


Return to “Official Rules Questions (Second Edition)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest