Duration of Transform

Ask M&M 2e rules questions that your fellow gamers can't answer. Only Mutants & Masterminds Line Developer (and creator) Steve Kenson can post replies. He visits the boards in between projects and convention appearances so please be patient!
User avatar
Posts: 4875
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 8:24 pm
Location: Fort Lee, NJ

Duration of Transform

Postby baixiwei » Mon Jul 14, 2008 2:09 am

The description of Transform under UP says "The transformation lasts as long as you continue sustaining it. When you stop, the target reverts to normal."

But Transform has Sustained (Lasting) duration by default, and UP p 110 says "Lasting effects persist even when they're not maintained, however. This remains the case if those lasting effects are part of an Array."

According to the former rule, a transformation ends when it is not maintained; according to the latter rule, it does not end until the target successfully saves against it. Which is correct? And if the former, why? Is Transform an exception to the general rules for Lasting?
Baixiwei's Character Builds and Conversions

If only you could see what I've seen with your eyes.

User avatar
Steve Kenson
Posts: 4118
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:20 am
Location: Freedom City, USA

Postby Steve Kenson » Wed Jul 30, 2008 4:00 pm

By "reverts to normal" Transform should add "upon making a successful save". Transformed objects, which do not make saving throws, revert to their original state immediately, however.
Steve Kenson - steve@greenronin.com
Green Ronin Publishing

Return to “Official Rules Questions (Second Edition)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest