Attack Feats while Grappling

Ask M&M 2e rules questions that your fellow gamers can't answer. Only Mutants & Masterminds Line Developer (and creator) Steve Kenson can post replies. He visits the boards in between projects and convention appearances so please be patient!
Locked
baixiwei
Overlord
Overlord
Posts: 4875
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 8:24 pm
Location: Fort Lee, NJ
Contact:

Attack Feats while Grappling

Post by baixiwei » Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:57 am

Hi, I posted this question in the rules forum already but there didn't seem to be an authoritative answer, so I'm coming here second.

The question is, can feats like Power Attack, All-out Attack, etc. be used while grappling?

The case for "no" is that those feats only apply when you make an attack, and a grapple check isn't an attack. The case for "yes" is that a grapple check is still based on your attack and damage modifiers, so tradeoffs among them are meaningful.

If the answer is "no", a couple other questions result - (1) if someone is in a grapple but forfeits their grapple check in order to make a regular attack, can they then use the above-mentioned feats? (2) if someone makes a melee attack using, say, Power Attack, and then uses Improved Grab to start a grapple, do the Power Attack modifiers apply to the grapple check & grapple damage *in that round* even though Power Attack cannot be used again next round?

Thanks!

Steve Kenson
Mastermind
Posts: 4118
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:20 am
Location: Freedom City, USA
Contact:

Post by Steve Kenson » Mon Jun 09, 2008 8:07 am

Those feats do not apply to grapple checks. If you choose not to grapple (assuming you won the last grapple check and have that option), you can make an attack and use any appropriate feats. If you power attack, then use Improved Grab to initiate a grapple, the penalty to your attack roll from the Power Attack does not apply to your grapple check.
Steve Kenson - steve@greenronin.com
Green Ronin Publishing

Locked