A Penetrating Jack-A-Knives Question

Ask M&M 2e rules questions that your fellow gamers can't answer. Only Mutants & Masterminds Line Developer (and creator) Steve Kenson can post replies. He visits the boards in between projects and convention appearances so please be patient!
Locked
Dr Archeville
Cosmic Entity
Cosmic Entity
Posts: 7990
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 2:55 pm
Location: R'lyeh
Contact:

A Penetrating Jack-A-Knives Question

Post by Dr Archeville » Sun Mar 16, 2008 7:25 pm

All glory to the Ken-Sun, long may he shine!

Jack-A-Knives has Strike 2 (mystic knife, Penetrating 18, Mighty). Is the Penetrating A) always at 18 (thus allowing the host more chances to hurt others), or B) only equal to the rank of the damage (Strike + Host's Str mod), up to or 18?

If Bob from Accounting (Str 10/+0) is possessed, would the mystic knife be
A) Strike 2 (Penetrating 18), and thus possibly able to harm, say, Smash of Larceny, Inc. (Toughness 13, Impervious 8) (if poor Smash rolled very poorly)
or
B) Strike 2 (Penetrating 2), thus unable to harm Smash at all?
Come join us at http://www.freedomplaybypost.com/index.php ! (current status: site and chat stable, Wiki pending)

Steve Kenson
Mastermind
Posts: 4118
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:20 am
Location: Freedom City, USA
Contact:

Post by Steve Kenson » Mon Jun 09, 2008 7:42 am

It's B: Apply as many ranks of Penetrating as the host body has in melee damage, up to a maximum of +18.
Steve Kenson - steve@greenronin.com
Green Ronin Publishing

Locked