Questions About the Equipment Feat

Ask M&M 2e rules questions that your fellow gamers can't answer. Only Mutants & Masterminds Line Developer (and creator) Steve Kenson can post replies. He visits the boards in between projects and convention appearances so please be patient!
Locked
Saint Xanatos
Bystander
Bystander
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:12 pm

Questions About the Equipment Feat

Post by Saint Xanatos » Tue Mar 04, 2008 4:23 pm

Hey all you heroes out there! This is my first time posting, so I hope I get everything right. I just picked up the M&M (2e) Handbook for the first time, and I had a few questions about the equipment feat.

1.) First of all, I can't see how the math works out with the Costumed Adventurer on page 18. His stats say he has 4 points in Equipment, which would give him 20 points to spend. But every time I add it up, I get 17.

Check it out:
Commlink=1 pp
Costume (Protection 2)=2 pp
Grapple Gun (Super Movement--Swinging 1)=2 pp
Flash Bangs (Dazzle 3, V/A)=9 pp
-Alternate Powers:
--Boomerangs=1 pp
--Smoke Bombs (Obscure 4, V)=1 pp
--Stun Grenades (Stun 3)=1 pp

Doubtless I'm doing something wrong with those alternate powers, but I can't figure it out.

2.) On page 137, the utility belt is described. Presumably, 25 pp are required. The math works out here, no worries. But Explosives are given a value of 15 pp, where everything else is given as one. Is that because Explosives are the most expensive, and the others are alternate powers (because you can't have a more expensive power as an alternate)?

Thanks in advance,
Saint Xanatos

Steve Kenson
Mastermind
Posts: 4118
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:20 am
Location: Freedom City, USA
Contact:

Re: Questions About the Equipment Feat

Post by Steve Kenson » Fri Jun 06, 2008 6:52 pm

Saint Xanatos wrote:On page 137, the utility belt is described. Presumably, 25 pp are required. The math works out here, no worries. But Explosives are given a value of 15 pp, where everything else is given as one. Is that because Explosives are the most expensive, and the others are alternate powers (because you can't have a more expensive power as an alternate)?
Yes.

As for the Costumed Adventurer, he might have a few equipment points left over.
Steve Kenson - steve@greenronin.com
Green Ronin Publishing

Locked