Alternate Power..Powerup?

Ask M&M 2e rules questions that your fellow gamers can't answer. Only Mutants & Masterminds Line Developer (and creator) Steve Kenson can post replies. He visits the boards in between projects and convention appearances so please be patient!
Locked
User avatar
Psiko
Henchman
Henchman
Posts: 228
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 1:31 pm

Alternate Power..Powerup?

Post by Psiko » Mon Dec 10, 2007 6:01 pm

Hey. Quick Question.

Say I have a hero with a power with an alternate power with the same cost, such as..

Blast 10 (20pp)
A.P: Penetrating Strike 10 (1pp)

And then, as a reward, I get two powerpoints. I decide to use them to raise the level of my Blast to 11 (assume it's within PL). Would that raise the A.P.? Since I can build the AP with as many points as I put into the base power (in this case after the powerup, 22), would I (legally) be able to make it..

Blast 11 (22pp)
A.P. Penetrating Strike 11 (1pp)

I'm sure there are easier ways to model this, but this was the first that popped into my head.
Oda.Conforums.Com
Join One Dream Adventure, The Best One Piece PbP RPG!
Some Psikawtik 1e Conversion Builds

Steve Kenson
Mastermind
Posts: 4118
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:20 am
Location: Freedom City, USA
Contact:

Post by Steve Kenson » Wed Dec 12, 2007 8:09 am

Adding power points to the base power of an array increases the points available to all Alternate Powers of the array, and may increase their ranks accordingly (or even add modifiers or power feats, at the GM's discretion).
Steve Kenson - steve@greenronin.com
Green Ronin Publishing

Locked