Equipment Array (Utility Belt) Questions

Ask M&M 2e rules questions that your fellow gamers can't answer. Only Mutants & Masterminds Line Developer (and creator) Steve Kenson can post replies. He visits the boards in between projects and convention appearances so please be patient!
Locked
Elric
Overlord
Overlord
Posts: 4774
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 11:32 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Equipment Array (Utility Belt) Questions

Post by Elric » Thu Nov 29, 2007 2:10 pm

Hi Steve,
Some questions on equipment arrays (really, utility belts).

1) If you have an equipment array like a Utility Belt (see pg 137), presumably it's a free action is it to switch between equipment items.

A) Does this action entail being able to pull out the new equipment item and put away the old equipment item?
B) Or is it a move action to put away the old item and pull out the new item (and presumably the Quick Draw feat changes this to a free action)?
C) Something else?

2) What happens if you're holding the stun gun and you get disarmed. Do you:

A) Lose the ability to use the entire array?
B) Lose access to every item with base cost less than (max ep cost of items in the array) - (ep cost of stun gun)? Essentially, you lose access to the ep represented by the stun gun but otherwise you can use the array as normal. For example, if the array was built with an 18 ep base power and the stun gun cost 14 ep, you can still switch to a 4 ep or less item.
C) Only lose the ability to use the Stun Gun in the array, but you can still switch the array to any other item with your full equipment point total (potential problem: this means that a character who wants to be hard to disarm despite being reliant on equipment can simply take APs for 1 ep each of similar weapons and switch to them if he loses his primary weapon, which substantially lessens this weakness of equipment at a very low price).
D) Something else?

3) If the Utility Belt itself is destroyed (e.g., Acid Dude disintegrates it with a touch) but at the time you were holding the stun gun and it was not targeted:

A) This question doesn't make sense- if the utility belt itself is destroyed, that takes out the entire array structure which means you can't access any of the powers- rationalize it that Acid Dude destroyed the gun too
B) You can still use the stun gun but you can't switch to anything else in the array
C) Something else?
3e Builds, 2e Builds, Index of 2e Official Rules Answers & General Resources (includes character creation and fight examples)

Steve Kenson
Mastermind
Posts: 4118
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:20 am
Location: Freedom City, USA
Contact:

Re: Equipment Array (Utility Belt) Questions

Post by Steve Kenson » Wed Dec 12, 2007 8:01 am

Elric wrote:1) If you have an equipment array like a Utility Belt (see pg 137), presumably it's a free action is it to switch between equipment items.
Yes.
A) Does this action entail being able to pull out the new equipment item and put away the old equipment item?
Yes, unless the GM wishes to introduce the house rule that equipment requires a long time to ready/put away, as you suggest.
2) What happens if you're holding the stun gun and you get disarmed. Do you:

A) Lose the ability to use the entire array?
B) Lose access to every item with base cost less than (max ep cost of items in the array) - (ep cost of stun gun)? Essentially, you lose access to the ep represented by the stun gun but otherwise you can use the array as normal. For example, if the array was built with an 18 ep base power and the stun gun cost 14 ep, you can still switch to a 4 ep or less item.
C) Only lose the ability to use the Stun Gun in the array, but you can still switch the array to any other item with your full equipment point total (potential problem: this means that a character who wants to be hard to disarm despite being reliant on equipment can simply take APs for 1 ep each of similar weapons and switch to them if he loses his primary weapon, which substantially lessens this weakness of equipment at a very low price).
Generally C, but the GM should most certainly rule against efforts to exploit this loophole by saying the character has a couple spare stun-guns stuffed in his utility belt. "Legal" or not, we obviously both know it's an attempt to circumvent the spirit of the rules.
3) If the Utility Belt itself is destroyed (e.g., Acid Dude disintegrates it with a touch) but at the time you were holding the stun gun and it was not targeted:

A) This question doesn't make sense- if the utility belt itself is destroyed, that takes out the entire array structure which means you can't access any of the powers- rationalize it that Acid Dude destroyed the gun too
B) You can still use the stun gun but you can't switch to anything else in the array
I'd say B for the same reason as above: it makes the most sense in context. Again, attempts to exploit this as a loophole (e.g. "My 'utility belt' is distributed in multiple pockets throughout my cape/overcoat, so a single attack can't remove everything" should either be banned or the character charged a surcharge, that is, not allowed to consider that equipment an array).
Steve Kenson - steve@greenronin.com
Green Ronin Publishing

Locked