Gestalt Statistics

Ask M&M 2e rules questions that your fellow gamers can't answer. Only Mutants & Masterminds Line Developer (and creator) Steve Kenson can post replies. He visits the boards in between projects and convention appearances so please be patient!
Locked
Drakos
Hireling
Hireling
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 7:32 pm

Gestalt Statistics

Post by Drakos » Wed Nov 14, 2007 7:31 am

Hey Steve, thanks in advance for your time in answring my question.

Now onto the question. I have searched hear and other parts of the boards for the answer but didn't find it. In the stat block, and the table entry, in UP Gestalt is listed as having a Continuous duration and action of Full (active).

I have seen that the duration has been eratta'ed to sustained, so no problem there.

The question is about the action of Full (active). in the first paragraph of the description it says "Joining to create the gestalt form requires a standard action, but breaking apart into the component beings is a free action". So is it a full action or a standard action?

The price would seem to indicate that it is a full action because the base effect is Summon which is a Standard action at 2pp/rank, so increasing the action from standard to full would account for the 1pp/rank of Gestalt. However gestalt has other limitations that the base effect does not such as; combined form not avaliable while component forms are active, and must have all components present to reform main form.

If it is indeed a Full action and that is how you arrived at the 1pp/rank cost then do the other limitations not constitute enough of a drawback for a full flaw, or are they offset by other factors in the power like starting at two summoned creatures instead or the one with Summon?
Be a Hero

Steve Kenson
Mastermind
Posts: 4118
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:20 am
Location: Freedom City, USA
Contact:

Re: Gestalt Statistics

Post by Steve Kenson » Sat Nov 17, 2007 10:18 am

Drakos wrote:If it is indeed a Full action and that is how you arrived at the 1pp/rank cost then do the other limitations not constitute enough of a drawback for a full flaw, or are they offset by other factors in the power like starting at two summoned creatures instead or the one with Summon?
It's some of both, such that it seemed to balance out at the 1 point/rank cost. There's often a bit of fudging or eyeballing in terms of getting power costs that look about right, and Gestalt is one of those cases.
Steve Kenson - steve@greenronin.com
Green Ronin Publishing

Locked