Instant (lasting) in arrays?

Discuss the second edition rules of the World's Greatest Superhero Roleplaying Game. Check here before posting in the Official Rules Forum, someone might just know the answer already!
User avatar
Umbral Reaver
Bystander
Bystander
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 4:03 am

Instant (lasting) in arrays?

Postby Umbral Reaver » Fri Jun 01, 2012 9:17 pm

Normally, if you have a concentration, sustained or continuous power in an array and switch the array to a different power, the previous power's effects disappear entirely. However, if a power is instant (lasting), that makes it continue each round until saved against even if the array is switched, right?

Mind Control 2 pp/r affects targets while concentrating then wears off in rounds once concentration ends. Does the effect end immediately upon changing the array? Or does that simply drop it down to the lasting duration?

If it just ends it right there, does that also mean Mind Control 1 pp/r with the duration reduced to instant will have its effect ended by switching the array?

User avatar
kenseido
Cosmic Entity
Cosmic Entity
Posts: 21184
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:57 am
Location: Kyle, Texas
Contact:

Re: Instant (lasting) in arrays?

Postby kenseido » Fri Jun 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Mind Control is Lasting. Lasting powers continue after you switch the array, as if you are no longer "maintaining" them.
-----------------------------
Kenseido's Menagerie of Characters

User avatar
Greyman
Luminary
Luminary
Posts: 2674
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 9:45 pm

Re: Instant (lasting) in arrays?

Postby Greyman » Wed Jun 06, 2012 2:15 am

Yes. Just so.

Mind Control: Mind Control is Concentration (Lasting) by default. It does not automatically end when you cease concentrating. It just gives the controlled character more opportunities to recover.

Lasting: Once you use a lasting power, you do not need to maintain the power at all, though you may wish to maintain concentration. Maintaining concentration does not prevent you from switching array settings.

The result lingers until an additional save succeeds. Each additional save gains an accumulative +1 bonus. The "duration" merely determines when additional saves may be attempted to remove the lingering effect.

Instant (Lasting): An additional save is allowed each round (starting on the next) on the same initiative count as the power was used.

Concentration (Lasting): As long as the user maintains concentration, an additional save is allowed for each progressive time interval (starting at one minute). If the user's concentration lapses, an additional is allowed each round. The user cannot resume lapsed concentration.

Sustained (Lasting): An additional save is allowed for each progressive time interval (starting at one minute). No further effort is required, but as long as the user maintains concentration, the additional saves do not accumulate the +1 bonus. The user cannot resume lapsed concentration.

Continuous (Lasting): No additional saves are allowed. The result lingers until countered or reversed in some manner.

User avatar
kenseido
Cosmic Entity
Cosmic Entity
Posts: 21184
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:57 am
Location: Kyle, Texas
Contact:

Re: Instant (lasting) in arrays?

Postby kenseido » Wed Jun 06, 2012 5:59 am

Doesn't Sustained (Lasting) only require a Free action to maintain, whereas Concentration (Lasting) requires a Standard action to maintain?
-----------------------------
Kenseido's Menagerie of Characters

User avatar
FuzzyBoots
Cosmic Entity
Cosmic Entity
Posts: 9719
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:15 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Re: Instant (lasting) in arrays?

Postby FuzzyBoots » Wed Jun 06, 2012 7:23 am

kenseido wrote:Doesn't Sustained (Lasting) only require a Free action to maintain, whereas Concentration (Lasting) requires a Standard action to maintain?

Yup, but after you stop "maintaining" it is when the second set of saves kick in (I also personally keep them controlled person at the lst command rather than letting the mind controller issue additional commands). Even Instant Mind Control has a lingering effect.


Return to “Mutants & Masterminds Rules (Second Edition)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest