Power attack with trip

Discuss the second edition rules of the World's Greatest Superhero Roleplaying Game. Check here before posting in the Official Rules Forum, someone might just know the answer already!
spikevampire
Collaborator
Collaborator
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 4:45 pm

Power attack with trip

Postby spikevampire » Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:09 pm

Hi guys...

A premise: I allow a stun or other similar power to be empowered by power attack when a successful hit is needed...

How could work a power attack on the Trip power?
And of course with his variation with the knockback extra?

I will simply assume that it will simply add the bonus to the opposed check in the trip version and to the knockback "fake damage" in the other version...

That sounds odd ...

User avatar
FuzzyBoots
Cosmic Entity
Cosmic Entity
Posts: 9719
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:15 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Re: Power attack with trip

Postby FuzzyBoots » Thu Jan 05, 2012 7:38 pm

*shrug* I would say that it would add to the trip attempt. Whether it adds to the knockback depends on how you're flavoring the Power Attack. I know that Steve Kenson indicated that he thinks that Power Attack generally shouldn't apply to knockback (if for no other reason than that adding 5 ranks makes the knockback 50 times longer).

spikevampire
Collaborator
Collaborator
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 4:45 pm

Re: Power attack with trip

Postby spikevampire » Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:52 pm

I tend to count power attack bonus as an effective knockback as long as it doesn't surpass the normal CAP. In this case I also think that the bonus should apply to the trip bonus in anycase...

Thank you!


Return to “Mutants & Masterminds Rules (Second Edition)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest