Help with a Chi type build (sorta)

Discuss the second edition rules of the World's Greatest Superhero Roleplaying Game. Check here before posting in the Official Rules Forum, someone might just know the answer already!
Brolthemighty
Bystander
Bystander

Help with a Chi type build (sorta)

Postby Brolthemighty » Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:19 pm

Alright, so I'm pretty new to M&M, irregardless of which edition. I'm trying to get my head wrapped around the various styles and rules for the powers in order to properly represent my Hero, while keeping him effective.

So the theme of the Hero, is that he has absorbed the energy from a Black Hole due to a failed physics experiment in a room that he was cleaning (he's a janitor.) Due to this, and the fact that you can't just leave a Black Hole unchecked, he now has a control device on his chest that when deactivated, allows him to access his powers....for a time. So for the theme, I figured key words were Darkness, Density, Cosmic, and Gravity. Each has a tie in with Black Holes. You could also argue for Radiation. Power Level is 8.

Power wise, I'm looking at having most of it bundled in to a Battle Form, to represent the device being deactivated. Aside from that, I'm trying to decide on going with a Chi mechanic, or just straight up powers. I'm not sure which would be the best representation. I'm not even sure PL 8 is high enough to properly DO a chi mechanic based Hero.

So here are the powers I'm looking at:
Absorbtion (Energy) - Nothing escapes a black hole, not energy nor matter
- Use for Boost (Blast)
- Power feats: Energy Conversion
- Extra: Power Magneet
Darkness Control
- Alternate Powers: Energy Drain, Life Drain
Gravity Control
- Leaping

Those are the ones I'm looking at for the Battleform, and then as a continuous: Density, Enhanced Str, Con, and Impervious Toughness to represent the bleedthrough of the Phenomenal Cosmic Power of the black hole. Since you really can't fully contain one.