Any extra cost for changing which save a power uses?

These questions about M&M's first edition were posed to Steve Kenson--and then he answered them! Steve's now providing official answers to second edition questions, but we've archived this forum for you to search.
User avatar
arcady
Daredevil
Daredevil
Posts: 709
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 4:10 pm
Location: San Francisco native
Contact:

Any extra cost for changing which save a power uses?

Postby arcady » Wed May 11, 2005 10:18 am

Way back I read an official statement somewhere that you -could- switch which save is used.

But, is there any extra cost to a power to change which save it uses?

Example, a power based on Reflex save, switching it to being based on Fortitude Save.

I could see a problem switching to and from Damage save, but between Fort, Ref, and Will is there any extra cost, or can these three just be swapped around?


Finally, how would one best represent making it resisted by Charisma? An extra? Should some Charisma skill come in to play as well to keep balance?

How about changing the save to a skill?

User avatar
Steve Kenson
Mastermind
Posts: 4118
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:20 am
Location: Freedom City, USA
Contact:

Postby Steve Kenson » Fri May 20, 2005 12:38 pm

Normally, changing saves evens out to neither an extra or a flaw, unless the power's normal save is a Damage save, in which case it's worth an extra, since it means normal defenses against damage don't work against that attack.

The GM is also well within rights to assess an extra cost if a change in saves makes the power unusually effective in the context of the campaign.
Steve Kenson - steve@greenronin.com
Green Ronin Publishing


Return to “Official Rules Questions (1e Archive)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest