Area Extra

These questions about M&M's first edition were posed to Steve Kenson--and then he answered them! Steve's now providing official answers to second edition questions, but we've archived this forum for you to search.
Siccus
Bystander
Bystander
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2005 11:28 am

Area Extra

Postby Siccus » Sun Aug 14, 2005 6:19 pm

Question 1: I believe I remember reading somewhere that you can choose to have your area attack affect a smaller area than its full effect would allow. Is this correct?

Question 2: If I choose to make the radius smaller, does the damage bonus also decrease to match the power level it would have taken to create that radius of an explosion?

Example: My Energy Blast +10 with the Area extra could create a 50 ft. radius explosion, but I could choose for the radius to only be 20 ft. If I did so, would the damage bonus of the attack reduce to +4, the power level that would normally create a 20 ft. radius explosion?

Basically, can I voluntarily reduce the radius of an area effect attack without having to reduce the power level of the attack?

User avatar
Steve Kenson
Mastermind
Posts: 4118
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:20 am
Location: Freedom City, USA
Contact:

Postby Steve Kenson » Mon Aug 15, 2005 11:01 am

You can voluntarily decrease the size of an Area without affecting the power's rank or effectiveness.
Steve Kenson - steve@greenronin.com
Green Ronin Publishing


Return to “Official Rules Questions (1e Archive)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest