Mind Control: Breaking Control

These questions about M&M's first edition were posed to Steve Kenson--and then he answered them! Steve's now providing official answers to second edition questions, but we've archived this forum for you to search.
User avatar
Argos
Collaborator
Collaborator
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 10:13 am

Mind Control: Breaking Control

Postby Argos » Mon Jul 18, 2005 2:51 pm

I understand it to work like this:

Half action: Gain Control. This is an opposed roll.
Half action: Issue command. If objected to, it is d20 + Mind Control rank vs. a DC of 10/15 plus the target's Will save. If this fails, nothing happens. If successful, this triggers a Will save on the part of the target, with a DC equal to the "gain control" check. If successul, control is broken.

Am I correct?

Can a target try to break control between commands while the controller is sustaining the power?
Argos Xanth
duh-NUH!

User avatar
Steve Kenson
Mastermind
Posts: 4118
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:20 am
Location: Freedom City, USA
Contact:

Postby Steve Kenson » Mon Aug 15, 2005 10:37 am

You are correct.

Characters don't normally gain chances to break control in between receiving commands, unless they're following a command strongly against their nature (for example, hero ordered to "kill everyone in this building" would likely get a new save every time the order forced him to act against his beliefs, rather than just once).
Steve Kenson - steve@greenronin.com
Green Ronin Publishing


Return to “Official Rules Questions (1e Archive)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests