Silly thought

These questions about M&M's first edition were posed to Steve Kenson--and then he answered them! Steve's now providing official answers to second edition questions, but we've archived this forum for you to search.
User avatar
tomorrow
Mastermind
Mastermind
Posts: 2386
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 4:14 pm
Contact:

Silly thought

Postby tomorrow » Sun Jul 03, 2005 6:35 am

Umm... it occured to me the other day when I was making a street-level type hero that "Combat Sense" and "Deflection: Automatic" seem redundant.

If you have Combat Sense you can't be caught flat-footed and not be able to defend yourself... even against invisble attackers. Right?

So if your character has Combat Sense... would taking automatic still serve a purpose... since there shouldn't be any attacks capable of catching you off guard? Am I missing something here?

User avatar
Steve Kenson
Mastermind
Posts: 4118
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:20 am
Location: Freedom City, USA
Contact:

Postby Steve Kenson » Mon Jul 11, 2005 8:26 am

Combat Sense allows you to retain your full Defense bonus, it doesn't allow you to use Deflect against attacks out of turn or against attacks you can't see coming (which is not the same thing as retaining your normal Defense bonus). So they are not redundant, no.
Steve Kenson - steve@greenronin.com
Green Ronin Publishing


Return to “Official Rules Questions (1e Archive)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests