If I have super-strength (duration permanent by default) with leaping (duration instant by default) and protection (duration permanent by default) as extras, and then take the innate extra for super-strength, do valid sub-powers (i.e. protection) inherit that innate, or must I buy it separately for them?
One of my fellow players alleges that every sub-power inherits valid extras from its parent power. I countered that this is not a benefit listed on page 56, wherein the effects of "nested" power seem to be exclusively defined as the following:
1) Sub-powers cost 1 pp less per rank to purchase.
2) Use of the drain power against a parent power simultaneously drains ranks from all sub-powers.
I also pointed out that it would be possible to gain disproportionate benefit from broadly-appllicable extras if they are inherited by placing them in a root power. For instance, applying the Duration extra to an Energy Field that also has the Energy Blast extra would then provide an Energy Blast with a duration of concentration as well as providing a damaging field that endures even while unconscious.
So, ultimately, how does the inheritance of extras work?
Do you:
1) Have to purchase the same extra multiple times if you wish it to apply to sub-powers taken as extras.
or
2) Purchase of an extra applies that extra to all valid sub-powers.
Thank you for clarifying this.
Inheritance of Extras
- Steve Kenson
- Mastermind
- Posts: 4118
- Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:20 am
- Location: Freedom City, USA
- Contact:
Re: Inheritance of Extras
Nephilpal wrote:If I have super-strength (duration permanent by default) with leaping (duration instant by default) and protection (duration permanent by default) as extras, and then take the innate extra for super-strength, do valid sub-powers (i.e. protection) inherit that innate, or must I buy it separately for them?
... and right here is a reason why extras don't work this way in M&M 2e.

I generally recommend that sub-powers (as you put it) don't "inherit" extras, although in some cases you can say an extra "floats," allowing it to apply to any one sub-power at a time. This is a bit more complex, but also a little more flexible.
As I mentioned, M&M 2e eliminates this problem altogether.
Steve Kenson - steve@greenronin.com
Green Ronin Publishing
Green Ronin Publishing
Return to “Official Rules Questions (1e Archive)”
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest