First time as Gamemaster. HELP!

Here M&M GMs can trade tips and seek inspiration. Look out for SPOILERS! Players, surf elsewhere or ruin your own fun.
Chris F
Collaborator
Collaborator

First time as Gamemaster. HELP!

Postby Chris F » Thu Apr 17, 2014 6:52 am

I will begin running a Mutants and Masterminds series within the next month or so. We'll be starting off with the Emerald City Knights adventure path. This is my first time as Gamemaster. Not just as an M&M GM, but first time running any game system. As much as I like RPGs, I don't get to play them very often. As a result, I don't even have a model I can emulate. I'm confident that I can get everyone through character creation, but actually running an adventure could be problematic. Any advice from experienced GMs would be very welcome.

I also have some specific questions:
  • What makes a challenge or combat encounter "balanced?"
  • Would playing without a minis or a battlemap be very difficult? When using a battlemap, does the choice of grid type (squares or hexes) affect gameplay much?
  • How do I handle plot derailment without railroading the players?

Thanks a lot!

FuzzyBoots
Cosmic Entity
Cosmic Entity

Re: First time as Gamemaster. HELP!

Postby FuzzyBoots » Thu Apr 17, 2014 7:02 am

General advice:
* Read the basic manual and all of the adventure
* Read them again, and take notes. Anything which confused you at first is a good candidate here. Also handy is to break out all of the NPCs onto something like index cards so that you can quickly check that Joe Blogger has black hair and blue eyes, and a Will save of +8. Keep a few index cards handy for when you need to invent a PC.
* Until you're much more familiar with the system, I recommend getting a cheat sheet (Hero Lab exports one, and someone posted one to the General M&M forum) so that you have technical answers at your fingertips.