Explosive 1st Issue

Here M&M GMs can trade tips and seek inspiration. Look out for SPOILERS! Players, surf elsewhere or ruin your own fun.
Karadur
Bystander
Bystander

Explosive 1st Issue

Postby Karadur » Wed Jan 15, 2014 10:21 am

My family (2 9 year olds and my wife) will be running playing M&M for the first time soon and it's my first time running it in about 8 years. In the meantime we've all played a variety of tabletop games and rpgs so they are not 'inexperienced' but still it's not the same as 4e DnD obviously.
The characters are:
A shapeshifter with the ability to take on the forms of mythical creatures.
An energy blaster who uses fire and ice.
A stealthy teleporter.

We've collectively come up with a custom setting that takes place in the year 2112 and in the city of Washington CE a new US capital located in the geographic center of the country (DC was destroyed in 2020). True super powers were not acknowledged to exist until 2097.
The players don't know it but they'll really be playing in a modified version of Freedom City.

Our starting adventure plan was to take the place of an existing super team (Freedom League). The previous team is going global with their defense efforts so a new local team must be chosen to take their place in Washington CE.

I like random plot elements and I rolled a 42 on the one hundred adventure ideas:
"The heroes are trapped in their own headquarters, which is counting down to self-destruction."

So that's where I'm at thus far. Here is a to do list that I welcome any of you other thinktankers to help out with suggestions on:
How are they trapped?
Why is the base self destructing?
Who is behind this attack or is it some sort of accident/mistake?
Is anyone jealous of the PCs for taking over the Freedom League? Do they have any plans to hinder the PCs?

Doctor Devious
Heavyweight
Heavyweight

Re: Explosive 1st Issue

Postby Doctor Devious » Wed Jan 15, 2014 1:40 pm