Preservers... Or Time Lords???

Here M&M GMs can trade tips and seek inspiration. Look out for SPOILERS! Players, surf elsewhere or ruin your own fun.
Emerald Flame
Paragon
Paragon

Preservers... Or Time Lords???

Postby Emerald Flame » Fri Dec 27, 2013 4:09 pm

I should first start by saying that I am a big Doctor Who fan. I started with Tom Baker and have watched the show since.. admittedly dropping off with McCoy and then jumping in with both feet with Eccleston and have watched them all since. I just watched the Christmas episode and I am excited for the new Doctor.

NOW... I was playing around with character generation and I came upon an idea... What if you have a "Time Lord" that does not have a T.A.R.D.I.S. and so more-or-less relies on his tech knowledge. Many years ago I played the Doctor Who RPG and I played a Time Lord Soldier who was traveling around with a Doctor Who-esque character named "Justin Tyme". [Not my idea..] Anyway.. My character was a little more militant and was the foil to the more peaceful character.... But I digress..

The idea I had was to fuse my battlesuit character and a "Time Lord"... without the time-travel abilities. Then I started to think that instead of introducing the canon Time Lords of Galifrey... what about using an established race that could be just as interesting. One of the first that came to mind was the Preservers.

Alas.. there is little information about the Preservers other than to say that they were the cause for human evolution to some degree. <insert mad scientist laugh here> I started thinking about the Preservers and the Time Lords as possibly one and the same. On multiple occasions, the Time Lords have been described as being militant and aggressive. More than once it has been mentioned that if the Time Lords show up... Hell follows. SO... would it be a stretch to make the two.... one???