High School Heroes: Inspiration

Have an M&M fan Web site? Find a great place to get superhero miniatures? Have miniature conversion tips or any other resources like that? Put 'em in here.
SalaciousGM
Bystander
Bystander

High School Heroes: Inspiration

Postby SalaciousGM » Tue Sep 07, 2010 10:55 am

Hey all,
I'm still new to the whole superhero RPG/tabletop scene and I've started up a campaign with a group of friends in a PL 7 high school setting. I was wondering what comics would be good references for that kind of setting.
I didn't really grow up with comic books, so I'm unfamiliar with all the storylines and characters in the major series. Hell, I don't even know if this is the right place I should be posting this :?
If I could be pointed in a direction, 'twould be appreciated!
"Murder Squid: The fear of African Americans everywhere since 2009!"

JohnMatrix
Bystander
Bystander

Re: High School Heroes: Inspiration

Postby JohnMatrix » Sat Sep 11, 2010 8:08 pm

Well, it's been a while since I saw this at the top of the forum page and I've been refreshing this page hoping someone might provide you with an answer.

I think there was once a time when someone would have just told you to pick up one of the X-men titles, but with ongoing events in the Marvel universe I don't think they've actually had a high-school setting for awhile now. Which is kind of a shame really.

Although it's not much of an team book, I enjoyed the heck out of Ultimate Spider-man. That continuity kept Parker in the class-room, and bought most of his school friends into one kind of danger or another. (It's been a while but I'm pretty sure the reality-TV Kraven the Hunter films some footage of his Hunt for the Spider in Pete's school, plus the goblin blows it up and some other stuff).