The absolute BEST first session

This is the catch-all forum, for Mutants & Masterminds threads that you're not quite sure where to put.
mirilion
Groupie
Groupie

The absolute BEST first session

Post by mirilion »

I'm starting a new M&M 3E campaign tomorrow, and I want to give my players the best first session ever. I have a lot of experience as a GM in general, but my stories aren't always the most exciting.

Anyway, this is a high-action, heroic game with a healthy dose of humor. I was planning on launching the campaign smack in the middle of combat, just to wake people up. Perhaps even throw in the classic "Daily Planet globe tumbling down" scenario in the thick of it.

I would really appreciate any ideas on how to make this first session as unforgettable as possible.

DeathMetalBard
Bystander
Bystander

Re: The absolute BEST first session

Post by DeathMetalBard »

Well it certain sounds interesting for a start. When I was reading your post I was thinking "Ok, what kinda villain would he have if it's a jump straight into the battle" kinda thought. I guess what I'm saying is if you want to have an epic first session with a battle straight at the start, you need to establish either the first villain for the story as a very epic villain or establish that this is the work of some giant organization or entitiy which could become and overarching threat throughout the sessions.

An Example is like Galatacus from F4. He's a pretty epic villain on a global scale.

The thing is if you start it off right away too fast or too actiony it can get boring. I'm not sure how the players like their game but I like to build up my stories for the sessions, get them more interested and let them see the building threat of the villain or villains or anything like that, but it's mostly up to personal preference.

I hope that it works out and you make it super fun though :)

The Kryptonian
Cohort
Cohort

Post by The Kryptonian »